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	<title>Attribution 101 &#187; 2010</title>
	<atom:link href="http://www.attribution101.com/2010/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://www.attribution101.com</link>
	<description>Insights on Digital Media, Attribution and Measurement</description>
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		<title>Measuring ROI: a Primer for Online Marketers</title>
		<link>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/measuring-roi-a-primer-for-online-marketers/</link>
		<comments>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/measuring-roi-a-primer-for-online-marketers/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 15 Dec 2010 22:17:38 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Steve Latham</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Measurement]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Our Favorites!]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Business Case]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Measuring ROI from Online Media]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Online ROI]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[ROAS]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[ROI]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[ROS]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Steve Latham]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Supr Interactive]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spurinteractive.com/?p=46</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/measuring-roi-a-primer-for-online-marketers/' addthis:title='Measuring ROI: a Primer for Online Marketers '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div>Measuring ROI is now an imperative for marketers.  Here's an intro to translating online activity to offline Return on Spend and Return on Investment. <div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/measuring-roi-a-primer-for-online-marketers/' addthis:title='Measuring ROI: a Primer for Online Marketers ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/measuring-roi-a-primer-for-online-marketers/' addthis:title='Measuring ROI: a Primer for Online Marketers '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div><p><a href="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/money-icon2.gif"><img class="alignright size-full wp-image-895" title="money icon2" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/money-icon2.gif" alt="" width="69" height="69" /></a></p>
<p>As marketing dollars have become more scarce, the importance of  measuring ROI and building a business case to support investment has  become paramount.  For those seeking to better understand this subject,  here’s a “simple” methodology for quantifying value.  In this case,  we’ll look at ROS (return on spend = expected revenue divided by cost of  online media) and ROI (expected net present value divided by total  investment) from online campaigns.  If you find it to be of value, or if  you have additional questions, please comment below.</p>
<p><strong>Steps to Calculating Value </strong></p>
<p><em>1. Determine the Value metric (Revenue, Margin, NPV) of a customer.</em><br />
Some companies look at value of a transaction, annual revenue per  customer or lifetime value (profit) of a customer.  Some assign higher  values for new customers vs. a new sale to an existing customer. You  need to determine what is best for your organization (hint: choose the  metric that is most used by your executives).  For this example, let’s  assume your average sale is $1,000 and that the lifetime value of a  customer is $5,000.</p>
<p><em>2.  Assign conversion rates to approximate close rates.</em><br />
Let’s assume 3% of site visitors request more information (inquiries)  and that 30% of inquiries complete a purchase.  If you’ve done online  campaigns before, you should have a basis for inquiry rates.  Hopefully  your VP-Sales know how many leads convert to a transaction. If 3% of  visitors become leads, and 30% of leads are closed, 0.9% of visitors  will become customers.</p>
<p><em>3. Determine what your cost or investment will be.</em><br />
Let’s assume you will spend $10,000 in online advertising (display, search, email, etc.) this month.</p>
<p><em>4. Do the math to calculate ROS and ROI:</em><br />
Assuming your efforts drive 2,000 incremental visitors to your site  (cost: $5 each) you should see 60 new leads (3% conversion rate) and 18  new customers (30% close rate) worth $18,000 in revenue or $1.80 direct  ROS ($1.80 in revenue for every $1 spent).</p>
<p>The Net Present Value of the 18 customers is $90,000 ($5,000 each) yielding a Return On Investment of 900%.</p>
<p>If you present these types of results to your CFO, you’ll quickly find a lot of interest (and dollars) in online marketing.</p>
<p><strong>Another Metric: Value per Engagement<br />
</strong>Another way to measure results is calculating value per  engagement (visit, inquiry, etc.).  In the example above, each visit is  worth $9 in revenue ($18,000 divided by 2,000 visits), whereas each  inquiry is worth $300 ($18k divided by 60), compared to a cost per visit  of $5 and a cost per inquiry of $166.67.</p>
<p><strong>Remember Your Margins<br />
</strong>While revenue is an easy metric to measure, margins are much  more important.  Assuming your gross margin is 60%, you are making  profit as long as your cost per visit is less than $5.40 or cost per  inquiry is less than $180.</p>
<p><strong>Caveat Emptor!<br />
</strong>Please use good judgment when applying these methodologies to  your own business. Again, these are not a panacea for every situation.   But hopefully, they will give you some building blocks for quantifying  the impact of your interactive marketing program.  If you have specific  questions, please leave them here.  I can’t promise I’ll know the  answer, but I’ll do my best to help you figure it out.  Happy number  crunching!</p>
<p>Please feel free to COMMENT, SHARE with others and <a title="Encore Blog" href="http://www.attribution101.com/feed/" target="_blank">SUBSCRIBE to our blog</a>.  We look forward to your feedback!</p>
<p>Steve Latham, founder and ceo<br />
<a title="Encore Attribution" href="http://encoremetrics.com" target="_blank"><img class="alignleft size-full wp-image-903" title="EncoreLogo 150 x 60" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/EncoreLogo-150-x-60.jpg" alt="" width="150" height="59" /></a></p>
<p>&nbsp;<br />
<a title="Steve Latham Twitter" href="http://twitter.com/stevelatham" target="_blank">@stevelatham</a></p>
<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/measuring-roi-a-primer-for-online-marketers/' addthis:title='Measuring ROI: a Primer for Online Marketers ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></content:encoded>
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		<item>
		<title>SOCIAL MEDIA STRATEGY</title>
		<link>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/social-media-strategy/</link>
		<comments>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/social-media-strategy/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 30 Nov 2010 14:30:34 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Steve Latham</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Our Favorites!]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Social Media]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Strategy]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[social media marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[social media strategy]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spurinteractive.com/?p=489</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/social-media-strategy/' addthis:title='SOCIAL MEDIA STRATEGY '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div>SOCIAL MEDIA STRATEGY is intended to help marketers understand the opportunities, challenges and pitfalls of social media marketing while providing a framework for developing a social media strategy.  This presentation provides the information and guidelines you need to craft a social media strategy.  <div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/social-media-strategy/' addthis:title='SOCIAL MEDIA STRATEGY ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/social-media-strategy/' addthis:title='SOCIAL MEDIA STRATEGY '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div><p><img class="alignright size-full wp-image-491" title="social media" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/social-media1.jpeg" alt="social media" width="160" height="138" />Success begins with a plan. Yet when it comes to social media, most dive in without a thorough understanding of objectives, platforms, tactics, requirements, responsibilities and <a title="Encore Metrics" href="http://encoremetrics.com/" target="_blank">metrics for measuring performance</a>.</p>
<p>Most marketers also fail to understand the pitfalls and shortcomings that can prevent them from achieving their social media marketing goals, including:</p>
<ul>
<li>content that is overly promotional</li>
<li>content that is not engaging or relevant to target audiences</li>
<li>a one-way outbound approach to communicating (it’s all about me!)</li>
<li>failing to build a network (without reach, there is no ROI)</li>
<li>one-off isolated efforts vs. an integrated approach</li>
</ul>
<p>What most lack is a comprehensive <a title="social media strategy" href="http://bit.ly/7AS1zT" target="_blank">social media strategy</a>.  To address this growing need, I developed a new presentation to help marketers understand the opportunities, challenges and pitfalls of social media marketing while providing an operational framework for developing a social media strategy.</p>
<p>My presentation &#8220;<a title="Social Media Strategy" href="http://bit.ly/7AS1zT" target="_blank">Social Media Strategy</a>&#8221; addresses the following:</p>
<ul>
<li> 5 point business case for social media</li>
<li>7 common pitfalls of social media (and steps to avoid them)</li>
<li>10 point outline for a social media strategy</li>
</ul>
<div id="__ss_2591615" style="width: 425px; text-align: left;"><a style="font: 14px Helvetica,Arial,Sans-serif; display: block; margin: 12px 0 3px 0; text-decoration: underline;" title="SOCIAL MEDIA STRATEGY | Spur Interactive" href="http://www.slideshare.net/stevelatham/social-media-strategy-spur-interactive">SOCIAL MEDIA STRATEGY | Spur Interactive</a><object style="margin: 0px;" classid="clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000" width="425" height="355" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,40,0"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true" /><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always" /><param name="src" value="http://static.slidesharecdn.com/swf/ssplayer2.swf?doc=socialmediastrategyspurinteractive-091126114149-phpapp02&amp;stripped_title=social-media-strategy-spur-interactive" /><param name="allowfullscreen" value="true" /><embed style="margin: 0px;" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="425" height="355" src="http://static.slidesharecdn.com/swf/ssplayer2.swf?doc=socialmediastrategyspurinteractive-091126114149-phpapp02&amp;stripped_title=social-media-strategy-spur-interactive" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true"></embed></object>View more from <a style="text-decoration: underline;" href="http://www.slideshare.net/stevelatham">Steve Latham</a>.</div>
<p>This presentation provides the information you need to craft a social media strategy.  If you find it valuable, please feel free to comment below and share with others.  Enjoy and good luck with your <a title="SOCIAL MEDIA STRATEGY " href="http://bit.ly/7AS1zT" target="_blank">social media strategy</a>!</p>
<p>Steve Latham<br />
<a title="Steve Latham" href="http://twitter.com/stevelatham" target="_blank">Follow me on Twitter</a></p>
<p><strong>Related posts and presentations</strong><br />
<a title="Business case for social media" href="http://bit.ly/lEB4b" target="_blank">Business Case for Social Media</a><br />
<a title="New Media Toolkit" href="http://bit.ly/3hQh3Z" target="_blank">New Media Toolkit</a><br />
<a title="Social media shiny object" href="http://bit.ly/XUp4c" target="_self">Social Media: Shiny Object or Killer App?</a></p>
<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/social-media-strategy/' addthis:title='SOCIAL MEDIA STRATEGY ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></content:encoded>
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		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Interactive Musings: Attribution and Engagement Mapping</title>
		<link>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/attribution-engagement-mapping/</link>
		<comments>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/attribution-engagement-mapping/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 24 Nov 2010 03:20:38 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Steve Latham</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Measurement]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[engagement mapping]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[measuring online results]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[online attribution]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[online marketing]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spurinteractive.com/?p=474</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/attribution-engagement-mapping/' addthis:title='Interactive Musings: Attribution and Engagement Mapping '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div>The market is finally waking up to the importance of attributing credit across all media touchpoints / engagements that precede an online conversion.  However, there are still some big challenges ahead of us.  Here are 3 for you to think about. <div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/attribution-engagement-mapping/' addthis:title='Interactive Musings: Attribution and Engagement Mapping ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/attribution-engagement-mapping/' addthis:title='Interactive Musings: Attribution and Engagement Mapping '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div><p><img class="alignright size-thumbnail wp-image-476" title="QuestionIcon" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/11/QuestionIcon-150x150.jpg" alt="QuestionIcon" width="150" height="150" />I came across a recent <a href="http://blogs.forrester.com/marketing/2009/10/a-simple-way-to-think-about-attribution.html">Forrester post on Attribution</a> and felt the need to comment&#8230;  I&#8217;ll be short and to the point!</p>
<p>I agree the concept of attribution is not new but unfortunately there are still many issues that need to be addressed, such as&#8230;</p>
<p><strong>1. Ad servers reliance on their tag to be served on the last visit preceding an action.</strong> Unless I&#8217;m mistaken, ad servers above can only attribute credit for prior engagements if the last click preceding the conversion is goes through their server. Unfortunately most conversions are preceded by visits from direct navigation and/or natural search.  So unless the ad server integrates with site analytics data, they can&#8217;t attribute credit for a majority of online conversions.</p>
<p><strong>2. Lack of an agreed upon methodology for recasting the cost per action across the touch-points that played a supporting role. </strong>How far back do you go? How many impressions are worth one click? How do you split the credit across different types of media?  We have our views and am sure others have theirs.  And most are probably based on sound logic.</p>
<p><strong>3. Acknowledgment that our ability to measure impact is severely limited by increasing use of multiple devices (work, home, mobile) and cookie deletion. </strong>We&#8217;ve seen for years that users often browse at work and buy at home.  Now they are relying more and more on their mobile devices for browsing, making it pretty tough to figure out how and where they are becoming engaged and interested in our offer.  For every action we can measure via cookies, there must be 3-4 that we can&#8217;t measure.</p>
<p>To sum it up, engagement mapping and attributing credit across touch-points is an important and useful approach.  But it alone will not tell the whole story.  Market testing and surveys should also be included in your toolkit for determining what works in online media.</p>
<p><strong>Related articles and presentations:</strong><br />
<a title="Online demand generation" href="http://bit.ly/j5xtf" target="_blank">Online Demand Generation: Strategy and Metrics</a><br />
<a title="measuring online results" href="http://www.attribution101.com/2008/09/29/making-sense-of-results-from-online-campaigns-part-1/" target="_blank">Making Sense of Online Campaign Results: Part 1</a><br />
<a title="measuring online results" href="http://www.attribution101.com/2008/10/03/making-sense-of-online-campaign-results-part-2/" target="_blank">Making Sense of Online Campaign Results: Part 2</a></p>
<p>I hope you find this helpful or at least thought-provoking.  Feel free to share with your colleagues, clients and propellerheads who are into web analytics and media modeling!</p>
<p>Steve Latham<a title="encore on twitter" href="http://twitter.com/encoremetrics" target="_blank"><br />
Follow us on Twitter!<br />
</a><a title="Spur Interactive Contact Us" href="http://www.spurinteractive.com/contact.html" target="_blank"></a></p>
<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/attribution-engagement-mapping/' addthis:title='Interactive Musings: Attribution and Engagement Mapping ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></content:encoded>
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		<slash:comments>2</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>New Media Toolkit (updated!)</title>
		<link>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/new-media-toolkit/</link>
		<comments>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/new-media-toolkit/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 15 Sep 2010 15:05:17 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>admin</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Our Favorites!]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Social Media]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[new media toolkit]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[online marketing tools]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[search marketing tools]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[social media marketing tools]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spurinteractive.com/?p=404</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/new-media-toolkit/' addthis:title='New Media Toolkit (updated!) '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div>My recommendations for online marketing and new media tools for business marketers. <div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/new-media-toolkit/' addthis:title='New Media Toolkit (updated!) ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/new-media-toolkit/' addthis:title='New Media Toolkit (updated!) '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div><p><img class="alignright size-full wp-image-617" title="toolkit1" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/toolkit1.jpg" alt="toolkit1" width="131" height="131" />The online media landscape is in a constant state of change, and with the growing list of opportunities to use digital media as a marketing channel, the tools are evolving quickly.  Below is my New Media Toolkit &#8211; a list of online apps, services and vendors that I&#8217;ve found to be of great value.  It is by no means comprehensive, but if you need help today, these are great places to start!</p>
<p style="text-align: left;"><strong>Competitive Intelligence Tools</strong></p>
<ul>
<li><a href="http://quantcast.com" target="_blank">Quantcast</a> is an outstanding resource for assessing visitor demographics and user interests for your site and competitors&#8217; sites.</li>
<li><a href="http://compete.com" target="_blank">Compete.com</a> is one of my favorites for analyzing comparative site traffic and levels of engagement over time.</li>
<li><a href="http://alexa.com" target="_blank">Alexa.com</a> should be mentioned as well.  While I don&#8217;t trust the data for site traffic (see <a title="online competitive data alexa spur" href="http://www.attribution101.com/2009/08/03/can-you-trust-competitive-site-data/" target="_blank">Can You Trust Competitive Site Data?</a>), it is the only free estimate that shows the number of page views per visit.  Since Compete no longer offers this for free, Alexa is still useful.</li>
</ul>
<p style="text-align: left;"><strong>Search Engine Marketing Tools</strong></p>
<ul style="text-align: left;">
<li><a href="https://adwords.google.com/select/TrafficEstimatorSandbox" target="_blank">Google Estimator</a> allows you to forecast ad inventory, cost per click and projected media spend for a given set of keywords and geographic market.  While this is better than nothing, the results may vary significantly from reality for a variety of reasons.  Use with caution.</li>
<li><a href="https://adwords.google.com/select/AdTargetingPreviewTool" target="_blank">Google Ad Preview</a> allows you to see how search results appear in different parts of the World<span style="text-decoration: underline;"> </span></li>
<li><a href="http://www.quirk.biz/searchstatus/" target="_blank">Search Status Toolbar from Quirk:</a> one plug-in allows you to see keyword density, no-follow links, page rank, inbound links and other great tools (referred to me by <a href="http://catfish.cc" target="_blank">Catfish Comstock</a><a href="http://" target="_blank">)</a></li>
<li><a href="http://trends.google.com" target="_blank">Google Trends </a> and <a href="http://www.google.com/insights/search/#" target="_blank">Google Insights</a> are valuable tools for seeing trends in keyword searches. This is one of the best ways to measure changes in demand due to cyclical or seasonal factors.</li>
</ul>
<p style="text-align: left;"><strong>Social Networking Sites</strong></p>
<ul style="text-align: left;">
<li><a href="http://facebook.com" target="_blank">Facebook</a>: join me and 600 million of my extended friends. Just don&#8217;t freak out when your mother sends you a friend request (love you mom!)</li>
<li><a href="http://linkedin.com/" target="_blank">LinkedIn</a> &#8211; if you are in business and you are not on LinkedIn, you are missing the boat. Seriously.</li>
<li><a href="http://twitter.com" target="_blank">Twitter </a>- before you say no, take a test drive.  It’s a great way to promote your content and you may even have fun doing it.</li>
<li><a href="http://slideshare.net" target="_blank">Slideshare</a> &#8211; best described as &#8220;You Tube for Powerpoint&#8221; slideshare is the #1 place to post your presentations and demonstrate thought leadership.  It also happens to have some powerful Google juice; several of my presentations have top rankings (e.g. &#8220;<a href="http://www.google.com/search?q=social+media+business+case" target="_blank">Social Media Business Case</a>&#8220;). To see how it works check out my <a title="social media strategy" href="http://bit.ly/7AS1zT" target="_blank">Social Media Strategy</a> preso.</li>
</ul>
<p style="text-align: left;"><strong>Social Bookmarking and News Sites</strong></p>
<ul style="text-align: left;">
<li>While there are many social bookmarking sites, I prefer <a href="http://www.digg.com/" target="_blank">Digg.com</a> and <a href="http://www.propeller.com" target="_blank">Propeller</a>.  <a href="http://stumbleupon.com" target="_blank">Stumbleupon</a> is also worth exploring. I tried using Newsvine but they suspended me for linking to my own blog (now that&#8217;s an interesting policy&#8230;).</li>
<li>In terms of online marketing news, I like the <a href="https://www.emarketer.com/Newsletter.aspx" target="_blank">eMarketer</a>,<a href="http://www.mediapost.com/publications/?fa=Articles.showEdition&amp;art_type=13" target="_blank"> Online Media Daily (MediaPost)</a>, <a title="adexchanger" href="http://www.adexchanger.com">AdExchanger</a> and <a href="http://www.smartbrief.com/iab/" target="_blank">IAB SmartBrief</a> newsletters</li>
<li>There are many social media news sites, but if you have time for only one, subscribe to <a href="http://www.mashable.com/" target="_blank">Mashable</a> for the latest in social media news and other cool things of interest.</li>
</ul>
<p style="text-align: left;"><strong>Social Media Tools<br />
</strong>No media toolkit would be complete without recommending some tools to help you manage social media activities. Here are a few for your Tweeting and Posting pleasure:</p>
<ul style="text-align: left;">
<li>URL Shortening: <a href="http://bit.ly/" target="_blank">http://bit.ly</a> allows you to truncate links and track click-throughs. Nice way to curate content.</li>
<li>Post / Tweet Aggregators:  Over the past 12 months I have used numerous post / tweet management tools including <a href="http://ping.fm/" target="_blank">Ping.fm,</a> <a href="http://iconfactory.com/software/twitterrific" target="_blank">Twitterrific,</a> <a href="http://www.tweetdeck.com/" target="_blank">TweetDeck</a> and <a href="http://www.tweetlater.com/" target="_blank">TweetLater</a>.  But I now use and recommend <a href="http://hootsuite.com/" target="_blank">Hootsuite</a> for several reasons: 1) ability to post to multiple profiles on Twitter, Facebook, Facebook Fan pages and LinkedIn, 2) scheduling capabilities, 3) great stats, 4) intuitive interface and 5) good iPhone app.  I also use Twitter Selective Status Facebook app as it allows you to selectively update Facebook status when tweeting old-school style (using Twitter.com) simply by adding #fb at the end of the tweet.</li>
<li>Another aggregator (a must have!) is <a href="http://nutshellmail.com" target="_blank">Nutshell Mail</a>. It is a very useful app that aggregates updates from Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, etc. and sends them to you in an email.  If you are blocked from accessing social networking sites at work, this will help. I also LOVE that it allows me to Unfollow with one click from the email.  It&#8217;s easier and faster to Unfollow from Nutshell than it is from Twitter.</li>
<li>Social Media Bookmark aggregator: <a href="http://www.onlywire.com/" target="_blank">Onlywire</a> is a decent plug-in that allows you to share once and post across most social bookmarking sites.  If you have a blog you can use it for free (just add some code to your blog).  Or you have to pay $2.99 per month.</li>
<li>Blog Monitoring: several vendors offer solid toolsets.  The more robust and comprehensive, the more expensive, ranging from <a href="http://www.techrigy.com/" target="_blank">SM2</a> and <a href="http://www.addictomatic.com/" target="_blank">Addictomatic</a> (both are free) to the not-so-free social media monitoring tools <a href="http://en-us.nielsen.com/tab/product_families/nielsen_buzzmetrics" target="_blank">BuzzMetrics</a> and <a href="http://radian6.com" target="_blank">Radian6</a>.</li>
</ul>
<p style="text-align: left;"><strong>Twitter Tools</strong></p>
<ul style="text-align: left;">
<li><a href="http://search.twitter.com/" target="_blank">Search.Twitter.com</a> is Twitter’s native search engine; use it to find out how much you or your competitors are being discussed on Twitter. Using tools like Hootsuite you can now access Search.Twitter through the dashboards.</li>
<li>For charts showing how many users are following you (or your competitors) over time check out <a href="http://twittercounter.com" target="_blank">TwitterCounter</a>.</li>
<li>If you are trying to keep your ratio of Following to Followers in check, use <a href="http://www.friendorfollow.com" target="_blank">FriendorFollow</a> to find out which of those you are following are not returning the favor.</li>
<li>If you are seeking to find influencers on Twitter (users with lots o&#8217; followers), <a href="http://www.tweepsearch.com" target="_blank">TweepSearch</a> is a great place to start.</li>
<li><a href="http://mrtweet.com/" target="_blank">MrTweet</a> connects you with others on Twitter based on interests and industries</li>
<li><a href="http://twitpic.com/" target="_blank">Twitpic</a> allows you to upload pics with your tweets (and we all like pictures!)</li>
<li><a href="http://everythingtwitter.com/" target="_blank">Everythingtwitter</a> is well&#8230; I guess the names says it all</li>
</ul>
<p style="text-align: left;"><strong>Call Tracking Tools</strong></p>
<p style="text-align: left;">Your web site should use dedicated numbers that allow you to track the source of inbound calls.  Two vendors we&#8217;ve used are <a href="http://www.voicestar.com/" target="_blank">Voice Star </a>and <a href="http://mongoosemetrics.com" target="_blank">Mongoose Metrics</a>.  Both allow you to track the source and duration of inbound calls at a relatively low price.</p>
<p><strong>Campaign and Social Media Measurement</strong></p>
<p>If you&#8217;re seeking to answers on how to measure the impact of online media (Paid, Owned and Earned) you should visit us at <a title="Encore Media Attribution" href="http://encoremetrics.com" target="_blank">EncoreMetrics.com</a>.  All we do is media <a title="media measurement" href="http://encoremetrics.com/solution" target="_blank">measurement</a> and <a title="Attribution" href="http://encoremetrics.com/attribution" target="_blank">attribution</a>; and we do it very well.</p>
<p style="text-align: left;"><strong>Miscellaneous</strong> Wrapping this up, I&#8217;ll recommend <a href="http://wordle.net/" target="_blank">Wordle</a> as a fun, yet practical, app you can use.  Wordle creates wordclouds in a variety of formats. Here&#8217;s one I created using the copy from this blog pos5. Enjoy!</p>
<p style="text-align: left;"><img class="alignright size-full wp-image-623" title="Picture 4" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/Picture-42.png" alt="Picture 4" width="438" height="293" /></p>
<p>Again, this is not intended to be the all-encompassing New Media Toolkit, and I&#8217;m sure there are many great tools that were overlooked.  That said, I hope these are helpful in becoming a more prolific online marketer.  Please feel free to COMMENT, SHARE with others and <a title="Spur Interactive Blog" href="../feed/" target="_blank">SUBSCRIBE to our blog</a>.  We look forward to your feedback!</p>
<p style="text-align: left;"><strong> </strong></p>
<p style="text-align: left;"><strong> </strong></p>
<p><strong>Steve Latham</strong> (<a title="Steve Latham" href="http://twitter.com/stevelatham" target="_blank">follow me on Twitter)</a></p>
<p><strong> </strong></p>
<p><strong> </strong></p>
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</a></strong></p>
<p><a title="Encore Metrics" href="http://twitter.com/encoremetrics" target="_blank"><img class="size-thumbnail wp-image-514 alignleft" title="Spur Interactive Twitter" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/follow-us-on-twitter-bird-150x150.jpg" alt="Spur Interactive Twitter" width="67" height="67" /></a><a title="Encore" href="http://www.encoremetrics.com/contact-us" target="_blank"><img class="alignleft size-thumbnail wp-image-528" title="Contact-us3c" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/Contact-us3c3-150x111.jpg" alt="Contact-us3c" width="76" height="56" /></a></p>
<p style="text-align: left;">&nbsp;</p>
<p style="text-align: left;">&nbsp;</p>
<p style="text-align: left;"><a class="owbutton" style="display: inline-block !important; white-space: nowrap=;" title="Bookmark &amp; Share this Article" href="http://www.onlywire.com/submit?u=(insert url)&amp;t=(insert title)&amp;tags=(insert tags)" target="_blank"><br />
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<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/new-media-toolkit/' addthis:title='New Media Toolkit (updated!) ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></content:encoded>
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		<title>Silos Belong on Farms (not in Marketing Departments)</title>
		<link>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/integrated-marketing/</link>
		<comments>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/integrated-marketing/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 11 Aug 2010 17:30:22 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Steve Latham</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Measurement]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Strategy]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[interactive media mix]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[marketing integration]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spurinteractive.com/?p=614</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/integrated-marketing/' addthis:title='Silos Belong on Farms (not in Marketing Departments) '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div>Integration of online (and offline) marketing is important but challenging.  Here are some tips and examples of what to integrate and how to do it.  <div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/integrated-marketing/' addthis:title='Silos Belong on Farms (not in Marketing Departments) ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/integrated-marketing/' addthis:title='Silos Belong on Farms (not in Marketing Departments) '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div><p><a href="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/07/silos2.jpg"><img class="alignright size-full wp-image-690" title="silos2" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/07/silos2.jpg" alt="" width="192" height="288" /></a>In most companies, silos exist throughout the organization.  Unless you&#8217;re a 5-person shop, you likely have departments that perform specific functions that allow the company to operate.  While this may be an organizational requirement, departments don&#8217;t have to become silos where there is very little collaboration, interaction and integrated planning, execution and management.  Even if you&#8217;re in the same department, silos often exist among and between different disciplines.  When it comes to marketing, there are often noticeable disconnects between planning, communications, PR, creative, media, direct marketing, digital and other specialties.  As the title to this blog suggests, I believe Silos belong are farms, not in marketing departments.</p>
<p>Brands must take an integrated approach that starts with a deep  understanding of their audiences and objectives, and incorporates each  medium that may be effectively utilized to reach and engage customers. In the digital realm we&#8217;re talking about display advertising, demand generation, paid search, natural search, email marketing,  social media and mobile marketing.  As there is no silver bullet in marketing, you have to take an integrated approach. Allocating budget and assigning responsibility is a good start, but without integrated planning, management and reporting, you might as well be living on a farm.</p>
<p>Earlier this year I moderated a panel discussion at the <a href="http://onlinemarketingsummit.com" target="_blank">Online Marketing Summit</a> on &#8220;Integrating Your Marketing Mix&#8221;. While it may not be the sexiest topic (the Twitter session next door had many more attendees), it is a very important topic and is a common challenge faced by marketing executives today.  I&#8217;ll address it by tackling the two big questions: what to integrate and how to do it.</p>
<p><strong>What To Integrate?</strong><br />
I think you have to look at integration at two different levels.  Before you try to integrate your broadcast, print, direct mail, digital and other channels, you should integrate those activities that take place within each discipline.  Many consider &#8220;digital&#8221; or &#8220;interactive&#8221; as a stand-alone marketing discipline, when in fact is a collection of sub-specialties are that are quite different, yet inter-related.  Because they each require unique skills and experience, there are often internal and external chasms between web design, development, paid search, natural search, display media, email, social media and mobile, not to mention analytics and measurement.  Because each discipline requires specialized knowledge, it&#8217;s common that a brand will have one agency for paid search, another for natural search, another for display media, and others for email marketing, social media and mobile marketing.  Before you start trying to get traditional and digital to work together, you need to make sure your interactive specialists are all on the same page.  Once you have integrated digital planning, execution and measurement, you have a much better chance of winning the battle to integrate traditional and digital marketing efforts.</p>
<p><strong>How to Integrate?</strong><br />
While there is no silver bullet for integrating business activities and operations, I can share a few thoughts that may be of help.  First, I am not an advocate of selecting one group or agency that can handle every one of your needs.  There are simply too many disciplines and all of them require deep knowledge and experience to make them work effectively.  No one agency can be great at everything. If you want the best in the disciplines that matter, you are often forced to cobble together a network of partners to achieve it.  In these situations, you can realize significant benefits by doing the following:</p>
<p><a href="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/07/integration1.jpg"><img class="alignright size-medium wp-image-692" title="integration" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/07/integration1-300x294.jpg" alt="" width="180" height="176" /></a><strong>1. Integrate reporting and measurement</strong> &#8211; even if you use different resources (people, agencies, etc.) you can still standardize how results are tracked, reported and analyzed across channels.  Rather than receiving one report from your paid search firm, another from your display media agency, and yet more from your SEO, Social and Email partners, take some time up front to define the key performance indicators for each channel. Then require each partner to provide the information you need in a common format.  As it relates to digital marketing, you should standardize on one reporting platform that will be used to measure impact of your search, display, email and social media.  When it comes to reporting, less is more!</p>
<p><strong>2. Integrate planning</strong> &#8211; once your strategic objectives are defined, ask each of your partners to create a plan that will help you achieve those objectives.  Give them a common framework (planning template) so each partner&#8217;s deliverables are consistent.  Then host a planning meeting in which all partners are invited to present their plan to the group.  Once the plans are presented, discuss them as a group with the goal of identifying where coordination, collaboration and knowledge sharing between and among your partners are required.</p>
<ul>
<li>Case study: one of our clients hosted such an event and we found it to be very worthwhile.  Not only did we learn what the other groups were working on, but we also identified common challenges and solutions that could be leveraged across disciplines.  Most importantly, we realized there were many inter-dependencies between our groups, and that we all stood to benefit if we worked together and coordinated our efforts.  It was very eye-opening for us but no one benefited more than the client.</li>
</ul>
<p><strong>3. Integrate Execution</strong> &#8211; while integrated planning is a great start, the true value is realized through integrated execution. If you are a brand marketer, you need to do more than suggest that your team and/or agencies work together; you need to facilitate it to ensure follow through.  If you need an example of how to do this, look no further than the funny guy with the big head: Jack.</p>
<ul>
<li>Case study: At the OMS panel mentioned above, Maria Brusaschetti, Media Manager for Jack In The Box, discussed how JITB not only encourages its agencies to work together &#8211; they require it.  They host all-hands planning meetings to make sure everyone is on the same page.  To ensure collaboration and cooperation, they tie agency compensation to feedback from peer surveys (yes, they survey their partners to find out how well their peers are cooperating).  If the agencies want to earn their bonus, they have to play nice with others.  I think this is a brilliant approach that can be also be implemented inside your organization.  If you want your departments to work together, offer the department heads monetary (and non-monetary) incentives to ensure interdepartmental cooperation.  Then make sure you follow through with execution.</li>
</ul>
<p>In closing, integration is not a one-time fix.  As our organizations evolve, the ways in which we work together will evolve as well.  While mastering integration is far from easy, it can yield invaluable insights, efficiencies and synergy.  Or you can put on your overalls and fire up your John Deere.  The choice is yours!</p>
<p>Steve Latham<br />
<a title="Steve Latham" href="http://Twitter.com/stevelatham" target="_blank">@stevelatham</a></p>
<p>For more on Spur Interactive:</p>
<p><strong> </strong></p>
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<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/integrated-marketing/' addthis:title='Silos Belong on Farms (not in Marketing Departments) ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></content:encoded>
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		<title>Twitter Best Practices for Social Media Marketers (Updated 2010)</title>
		<link>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/twitter-best-practices-for-social-media-marketing/</link>
		<comments>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/twitter-best-practices-for-social-media-marketing/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sun, 08 Aug 2010 00:14:54 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Steve Latham</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Our Favorites!]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Social Media]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Strategy]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[branding]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[social media marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[twitter marketing]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spurinteractive.com/?p=597</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/twitter-best-practices-for-social-media-marketing/' addthis:title='Twitter Best Practices for Social Media Marketers (Updated 2010) '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div>Despite the popularity of Twitter as a marketing channel, most brand marketers still don't get it.  With the goal of doing my part to help the industry master this platform, I'm sharing my best practices for Twitter Marketing.  While these may not be comprehensive, they will provide you with 90% of what you need to be proficient at building your brand via Twitter.<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/twitter-best-practices-for-social-media-marketing/' addthis:title='Twitter Best Practices for Social Media Marketers (Updated 2010) ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/twitter-best-practices-for-social-media-marketing/' addthis:title='Twitter Best Practices for Social Media Marketers (Updated 2010) '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div><p><img class="alignright size-full wp-image-598" title="twitter bird" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/twitter-bird.jpg" alt="twitter bird" width="111" height="111" />For 2+ years I&#8217;ve been advising clients on how to use Twitter as a marketing platform.  Surprisingly, it seems that most brand marketers still don&#8217;t get it.  With the goal of doing my part to help the industry master this channel, I&#8217;m sharing my best practices for Twitter Marketing.  While these may not be comprehensive, they will provide you with 90% of what you need to be proficient at building your brand via Twitter.  In order of priority &#8211; here is my list. Enjoy!</p>
<p><strong>Twitter Best Practices for Social Media Marketing (according to <a title="steve latham twitter" href="http://twitter.com/stevelatham" target="_blank">@stevelatham</a>)<br />
</strong></p>
<p><em> </em></p>
<p><strong><em>1. Brand Your Profile</em></strong><br />
Before you start tweeting, make sure your profile is appropriately branded.  Update your profile, including a tight summary of who you are and how you distinguish yourself.  Include your URL and use a pic that can be identified when viewing a stream on a mobile device.  You can now find personalized Twitter backgrounds for cheap so there&#8217;s no excuse not to have one <a title="Spur Interactive Twitter" href="http://twitter.com/spurinteractive" target="_blank">(see ours here</a>).</p>
<p><strong><em>2.  Provide Interesting and Engaging Content</em></strong><br />
While Tweeting is easy, it’s important that you do it right, starting with a solid content strategy.  Content recommendations include:</p>
<ul>
<li>Based on approved content guidelines, create Tweets that are engaging and relevant to target audiences.  It should be easy for potential followers to see that your tweets are valuable and worth reading.</li>
<li>Introduce your content.  People often provide links to articles without any explanation as to why it might be relevant to the reader.  I always try to provide my take on whatever it is I&#8217;m linking to.  I&#8217;d recommend you do the same.</li>
<li>Write tweets that will be shared.  Rather than simply posting links, introduce links with compelling copy that encourage clicks.</li>
<li>Allow time to pass between each tweet (at least 15 minutes) for several reasons: 1) no one likes to have their dashboard of tweets dominated by one account, 2) if someone is not watching they are likely to miss them, 3) spreading them out demonstrates consistency that yields brand benefits.</li>
<li>Limit Tweets to 120 characters so they can be easily re-tweeted without exceeding the 140-character limit. See &#8220;120 is the new 140&#8243; from <a href="http://twitter.com/briansolis" target="_blank">@BrianSolis</a> for more tips.</li>
<li>Leverage real-time search by prominently including buzzwords that will picked up by Google, Bing and other search engines.</li>
<li>For more on Content Marketing check out <a href="http://twitter.com/juntajoe" target="_blank">@juntajoe</a> and his blog.</li>
</ul>
<p><strong><em><a href="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/twitterbird2.jpg"><img class="alignright size-full wp-image-676" title="twitterbird2" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/twitterbird2.jpg" alt="" width="121" height="121" /></a>3. Remember! Engagement = Listening + Responding</em></strong><br />
Social media is about interacting, and you can&#8217;t do that if you&#8217;re not listening.  In addition to listening for your brand mentions, you need to keep an eyes on what your network is tweeting about and participate in the discussion.  Here are some tips:</p>
<p><em> </em></p>
<ul>
<li>Use tools to track when your profile or brand is being mentioned on Twitter.  Tools include <a href="http://www.search.twitter.com/">www.Search.Twitter.com</a> as well as the SM monitoring tools mentioned previously.</li>
<li>Use the native search feature in your Twitter management tool to follow topics that are of importance to you.  For example, I have a search column in Hootsuite for &#8220;<a title="social media strategy" href="http://www.slideshare.net/stevelatham/social-media-strategy-spur-interactive" target="_blank">Social Media Strategy</a>&#8220;.  This is how I keep up to date on the latest tweets on this subject.</li>
<li>When your brand is being mentioned in a positive way, RT the message, follow and recognize the person who tweeted about you.</li>
<li>Acknowledge mentions.  Monitor when your Twitter account name is mentioned and RT to thank, and/or acknowledge those who are mentioning you.</li>
<li>Build credibility and goodwill with your followers by re-tweeting (RT) posts that will be of interest to your audiences.  If you RT a follower’s post, they may acknowledge the RT to their followers, thereby promoting you in the process.</li>
</ul>
<p>When your brand is being mentioned in a negative way, you can either 1) respond, or 2) ignore it.  If you choose to reply, consider the risks, given the nature of their tweet, their motives and their objectives. A confrontational response is rarely successful.  If you want to address a customer complaint, ask them follow you so you can then send a DM and take the conversation offline.  As mentioned above, ignoring the mention is often best.  You can inadvertently cause much greater damage if you engage in a public scuffle with a crazy person.</p>
<p><strong><em>4. Building a network of followers</em><br />
</strong>Without a network there is no reach, and without reach there is no ROI.  Contrary to most hopes and beliefs, networks do not build themselves; if you want followers, you have to work on it.  The good news is that with Twitter, the process is relatively easy.  When you follow someone, they will receive an email notification.  Currently, the normal etiquette is to respond by following the person who followed you.  Judicious tweeters will read your latest tweets to determine if your content is worth following.  If the content is good, most will follow you back – at least for a while.</p>
<ul>
<li>Start with your own employees, partners, vendors and community.  Announce your new Twitter account and ask employees to follow and share with others.</li>
<li>Identify the top 50 influencers in your category on Twitter as these people can provide visibility and credibility for your brand among their networks of followers. Use <a href="http://www.tweepsearch.com/">www.TweepSearch.com</a>, <a href="http://www.mrtweet.com/">www.MrTweet.com</a> and <a href="http://www.twollow.com/">www.Twollow.com</a> to find users with shared interests.  Look for those who have large numbers followers and are active in sharing their opinions with the masses (aka influencers).</li>
<li>Follow people who follow your Influencers.</li>
<li>Include a link to your twitter account in email, on your site, on all social networking sites and in all correspondence.</li>
<li>Remember to maintain a favorable ratio of Following / Followers of +/- 1:1. While building your network, take time to check out who you are following that is not following you back at <a href="http://www.friendorfollow.com/">www.FriendorFollow.com</a>.  For each person who is not following you, you can either: 1) stop following for good, or 2) unfollow and then re-follow.  If they do not respond on your 2<sup>nd</sup> attempt to reach out, you may consider unfollowing them for good.</li>
<li>Be careful with TwitterBots (AutoFollow) tools.  As you&#8217;ll quickly learn, building a network takes time.  If you are interested in using an network-building service, make sure  you use a credible tool or service that follows <a href="http://help.twitter.com/forums/10711/entries/68916" target="_blank">Twitter best practices.</a> Failure to do so will result in suspension of your account.  While there are a lot of cheap bots that to avoid, there are some services that work (full disclosure: we offer one that works well).  Before you buy, do your homework and ask for references.</li>
</ul>
<p><strong><em>5. Managing Multiple Accounts</em></strong><br />
Many marketers maintain at least two types of Twitter accounts – one for their company and one for their personal tweets.   Twitter management tools (my favorite is <a href="http://hootsuite.com" target="_blank">HootSuite</a>) allow you to manage multiple profiles.  Since many may follow your personal and work accounts, make sure you don’t tweet the same content at the same time.  Another common practice is to RT your company tweets from your personal account.  Remember that many will follow your brand and personal profiles, so make sure you space them out (no simultaneous tweeting!).</p>
<p><strong>Common Twitter Mistakes to Avoid<br />
</strong>Here are some common content mistakes many marketers make when Tweeting:</p>
<ul>
<li>It’s all about me!!!  Too many still use social media a megaphone vs. a telephone.  Success requires that you listen, engage and interact with others in the community.</li>
<li>Using social media as a press release distribution platform.  While there are sites that are great for press releases, this should be the exception, not the norm.  As noted, conversations require an exchange of information.  If all you do it tell the world about your firm, audiences will grow tired of listening.</li>
<li>Boring content.  You should always seek to include and introduce links to video, articles, audio and other media that will be interesting to audiences.</li>
<li>Vague content. Doesn&#8217;t it bug you when someone posts a link with a cryptic introduction?  Make it easy for followers to see what you are presenting to them.  Introduce your links.</li>
<li>Sharing information that is confidential, sensitive or not appropriate.  This is especially important if you work for a public company or in a regulated, hyper-competitive or litigious industry.</li>
<li>Drawing unnecessary attention or being overly defensive when addressing negative comments.  Sometimes it&#8217;s best to ignore the haters.  If you respond, you may make something big out of a small issue, which may be exactly what they want you to do.</li>
</ul>
<p style="text-align: left;"><strong>In Closing&#8230;<br />
</strong>Again, this may not be all-encompassing, and I&#8217;m sure I&#8217;ve omitted a few important lessons.  That said, I hope these are helpful and that you find value in them.  If so, please COMMENT, SHARE and <a title="Spur Interactive Blog" href="http://www.attribution101.com/feed/" target="_blank">SUBSCRIBE to our blog</a>.  Thank you for your feedback!</p>
<p style="text-align: left;"><strong> </strong></p>
<p style="text-align: left;"><strong> </strong></p>
<p><strong>Steve Latham</strong> (<a title="Steve Latham" href="http://twitter.com/stevelatham" target="_blank">follow me on Twitter)</a></p>
<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/twitter-best-practices-for-social-media-marketing/' addthis:title='Twitter Best Practices for Social Media Marketers (Updated 2010) ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></content:encoded>
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		<title>Posting Presentations to Facebook</title>
		<link>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/posting-presentations-to-facebook/</link>
		<comments>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/posting-presentations-to-facebook/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 07 Jun 2010 13:30:18 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Steve Latham</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Social Media]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[facebook]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[presentations]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[slideshare]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spurinteractive.com/?p=667</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/posting-presentations-to-facebook/' addthis:title='Posting Presentations to Facebook '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div>This evening a friend asked me how to post a Presentation on your facebook profile.  I thought it might make for an informative post, so here&#8217;s what I told her: 1. Go to Slideshare and create an account.  Slideshare is like Youtube for Powerpoint &#8211; a great platform for sharing all types of content. 2. [...]<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/posting-presentations-to-facebook/' addthis:title='Posting Presentations to Facebook ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/posting-presentations-to-facebook/' addthis:title='Posting Presentations to Facebook '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div><p><a href="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/facebook.jpg"><img class="alignright size-full wp-image-668" title="facebook" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/facebook.jpg" alt="" width="143" height="54" /></a>This evening a friend asked me how to post a Presentation on your facebook profile.  I thought it might make for an informative post, so here&#8217;s what I told her:</p>
<p>1. Go to <a href="http://slideshare.net" target="_blank">Slideshare</a> and create an account.  Slideshare is like Youtube for Powerpoint &#8211; a great platform for sharing all types of content.</p>
<p>2. Upload your presentation to your slideshare account (it&#8217;s pretty easy &#8211; just click &#8220;upload&#8221; and follow instructions)</p>
<p>3. Once uploaded, copy the link to your presentation and post it in your FB wall post.  I recommend you first shorten the URL using <a href="http://bit.ly" target="_blank">Bit.ly</a> or <a href="http://om.ly" target="_blank">om.ly</a> so it&#8217;s shorter, less likely to break, <span style="text-decoration: underline;">and</span> you can track click-throughs to the presentation.</p>
<p>4. For permanent posting, add the <a href="http://apps.facebook.com/slideshare/slideshows/popular" target="_blank">Slideshare App</a> to your Facebook account. This will allow synch with your presentations on Slideshare and present them inside the Slideshare tab on your profile.  For an example, <a href="http://www.facebook.com/slatham?v=app_2490221586" target="_blank">see my Slideshare tab.</a></p>
<p>I hope this is helpful.  If so &#8211; feel free to share with others!</p>
<p>Steve Latham<br />
<a href="http://Twitter.com/stevelatham" target="_blank">Follow me!</a></p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/posting-presentations-to-facebook/' addthis:title='Posting Presentations to Facebook ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></content:encoded>
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		<title>Why we don&#8217;t see more cause marketing</title>
		<link>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/why-we-dont-see-more-cause-marketing/</link>
		<comments>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/why-we-dont-see-more-cause-marketing/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 06 Apr 2010 17:40:18 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Steve Latham</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Social Media]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[cause marekting]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spurinteractive.com/?p=629</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/why-we-dont-see-more-cause-marketing/' addthis:title='Why we don&#8217;t see more cause marketing '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div>Social media is a great medium for cause marketing.  It's too bad more companies don't do it.  Here's one reason big brands struggle with cause marketing via social media. <div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/why-we-dont-see-more-cause-marketing/' addthis:title='Why we don&#8217;t see more cause marketing ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/why-we-dont-see-more-cause-marketing/' addthis:title='Why we don&#8217;t see more cause marketing '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div><p><img class="alignright size-full wp-image-630" title="paulnewman" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/04/paulnewman.gif" alt="paulnewman" width="222" height="176" />This morning I read a Smartblogs article on <a href="http://smartblogs.com/socialmedia/2010/04/06/where-social-media-meets-cause-marketing/" target="_blank">Social Media and Cause Marketing</a>.  It correctly points out that social media is an ideal platform for corporate cause marketing programs, and provides some useful tips for success.  Definitely worth a quick read!</p>
<p>I&#8217;m a huge fan of using social media for cause marketing, and I believe social media has probably been the single biggest contributor to the resurgence of cause marketing campaigns (no data, just a hunch).  But as I read the article, I reflected on numerous conversations I&#8217;ve had with big brand clients who love the idea of using social media as a platform for a brand-building, cause-marketing campaign, but are unable to pursue it.</p>
<p>One issue that often surfaces is that  within large companies the online marketing, brand management and direct  response groups are completely disconnected from community relations  and corporate giving groups.  The wall that exists between  corporate giving and marketing is often quite high.  Marketers are  typically restricted from supporting charitable organizations (through a  cause marketing campaign) that are not already approved and ordained as &#8220;causes we officially support.&#8221;  If they go to  the corporate giving department with a social media marketing idea, they are often rebuffed with a &#8220;thanks  but no thanks &#8211; we&#8217;ve got it covered&#8221; mentality.  If you can get past the  empire building and actually get the departments to work together,  you&#8217;ll still have to deal with a lot of red tape and slow progress.  With the increasing pressure to deliver compelling results in a timely manner, &#8220;lengthy approval process&#8221; usually means &#8220;pass!&#8221;.</p>
<p>So while social media is the ideal medium for promoting a cause  marketing effort, unless it bubbles up inside of the community relations  department, great marketing / giving opportunities often die on the  whiteboard due to politics and organizational dysfunction. It&#8217;s quite a  shame.</p>
<p>That said, there are still many examples of companies that are doing it well.  I just hope we start to see more of them!</p>
<p>Please feel free to COMMENT, SHARE with others and <a title="Spur Interactive Blog" href="../feed/" target="_blank">SUBSCRIBE to our blog</a>.  We look forward to your feedback!</p>
<p style="text-align: left;"><strong> </strong></p>
<p style="text-align: left;"><strong> </strong></p>
<p><strong>Steve Latham</strong> (<a title="Steve Latham" href="http://twitter.com/stevelatham" target="_blank">follow me on Twitter)</a></p>
<p>For more on Spur Interactive:</p>
<p><strong> </strong></p>
<p><strong> </strong></p>
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