<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>Attribution 101 &#187; Steve Latham</title>
	<atom:link href="http://www.attribution101.com/author/slatham/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://www.attribution101.com</link>
	<description>Insights on Digital Media, Attribution and Measurement</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Fri, 13 Jan 2012 22:16:54 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=3.1</generator>
		<item>
		<title>OMMA Metrics Panel Video: Social Media ROI</title>
		<link>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/omma-201103-video/</link>
		<comments>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/omma-201103-video/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 30 Jun 2011 16:42:25 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Steve Latham</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Measurement]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Social Media]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.attribution101.com/?p=1031</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/omma-201103-video/' addthis:title='OMMA Metrics Panel Video: Social Media ROI '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div>Social Media: shiny object or ROI generator?  This is the topic of discussion for this top-tier panel of digital media experts at OMMA Metrics NYC in March 2011.<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/omma-201103-video/' addthis:title='OMMA Metrics Panel Video: Social Media ROI ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/omma-201103-video/' addthis:title='OMMA Metrics Panel Video: Social Media ROI '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div><p>Encore founder and ceo Steve Latham recently moderated the &#8220;Measuring Social ROI&#8221; discussion at the OMMA Metrics NYC Conference in March 2011.  The big questions addressed were:</p>
<p>1. Social Media: Shiny Object or ROI Producer?<br />
2. What are brands doing to measure the impact of social ROI?<br />
3. What works and how do you know?</p>
<p>These questions were discussed by industry thought leaders and expert practitioners from across the country including:</p>
<p>- Adam Cahill, EVP Media Director, Hill Holliday<br />
- Ben Straley, CEO &amp; CO-Founder, Meteor Solutions                                                                  \<br />
- Jonathan Mendez, Founder &amp; CEO, Yieldbot<br />
- John Lovett, Senior Partner &amp; Principal Consultant, Web Analytics Demystified, Inc.<br />
- Jascha Kaykas-Wolff, VP of Marketing, Involver<br />
- Moderator: Steve Latham, Founder and CEO, Encore Media Metrics</p>
<p>A video of the panel is embedded for viewing below.  You may also view it on <a title="OMMA Metrics NYC Social ROI" href=" http://www.ustream.tv/recorded/13512135" target="_blank">ustream</a>.<br />
<object id="utv87107" classid="clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000" width="480" height="296" name="utv_n_447019"><param name="flashvars" value="loc=%2F&amp;autoplay=false&amp;vid=13512135&amp;locale=en_US&amp;hasticket=false&amp;v3=1" /><param name="allowfullscreen" value="true" /><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always" /><param name="src" value="http://www.ustream.tv/flash/viewer.swf" /><embed id="utv87107" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="480" height="296" src="http://www.ustream.tv/flash/viewer.swf" flashvars="loc=%2F&amp;autoplay=false&amp;vid=13512135&amp;locale=en_US&amp;hasticket=false&amp;v3=1" allowfullscreen="true" allowscriptaccess="always" name="utv_n_447019"></embed></object></p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>As always, feel free to comment and share!</p>
<p>The Encore Team</p>
<p><a title="Encore" href="http://encoremetrics.com/" target="_blank"><img class="alignleft size-full wp-image-952" title="EncoreLogo 100 x 40" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/EncoreLogo-100-x-40.jpg" alt="Encore logo" width="100" height="39" /></a></p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p><a href="http://twitter.com/encoremetrics" target="_blank"><img title="Encore Twitter" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/follow-us-on-twitter-bird-150x150.jpg" alt="Encore Twitter" width="67" height="67" /></a><a href="http://www.encoremetrics.com/contact-us" target="_blank"><img title="Contact-us3c" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/Contact-us3c3-150x111.jpg" alt="Contact-us3c" width="76" height="56" /></a></p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/omma-201103-video/' addthis:title='OMMA Metrics Panel Video: Social Media ROI ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/omma-201103-video/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Display Advertising Landscape</title>
		<link>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/encore-lumascape/</link>
		<comments>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/encore-lumascape/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Fri, 10 Jun 2011 20:25:59 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Steve Latham</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Our Favorites!]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[display landscape]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Kawaja]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Luma]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.attribution101.com/?p=990</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/encore-lumascape/' addthis:title='Display Advertising Landscape '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div>The latest Display Ad Landscape slide (6/11) produced by LUMA Partners.<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/encore-lumascape/' addthis:title='Display Advertising Landscape ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/encore-lumascape/' addthis:title='Display Advertising Landscape '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div><p>In early June I was fortunate to be one of 350 ad tech CEOs who attended <a href="http://www.amiando.com/DMS11.html" target="_blank">LUMA Partners&#8217; Digital Media Summit</a> in NYC, featuring the best and brightest in the industry.  I&#8217;ve been to some great networking events before (IAB, 4A&#8217;s, etc.) but this was tough to beat.</p>
<p>In addition to meeting some amazing people, one  of the highlights was the release of the latest display ad landscape or  “LUMAscape” aka “the slide” that was originally produced by Terence  Kawaja in 2010.  For those who are new to display advertising (or have been out of the market for the last 3 years), buying display media is like  buying a house: you also need phone service, internet, cable, gas,  electricity, dog-walking, etc.  In this case, Media is the house; ancillary  services include <a title="Ad Verification" href="http://adsafemedia.com/" target="_blank">ad verification</a>, <a title="OBA compliance" href="http://evidon.com" target="_blank">OBA compliance</a>, data/tag management, <a title="Aperture Audience" href="http://apertureaudience.com" target="_blank">audience measurement</a>, ad serving, and our favorite: <a title="Attribution" href="http://encoremetrics.com/attribution">attribution</a>.</p>
<p>The newest version of the slide is getting ever closer to accurately depicting all  the segments and sub-segments that comprise the digital advertising  landscape.  It also marked the debut of <a title="Encore" href="http://encoremetrics.com/" target="_blank">Encore Media Metrics</a> as a recognized leader in the Attribution and Measurement category.</p>
<p>&#8220;The Slide&#8221;may also <a href="http://www.slideshare.net/tkawaja/luma-display-ad-tech-landscape-2010-1231" target="_blank">viewed on slideshare</a> or you can download the <a href="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/LUMA-Display-Landscape-201106.pdf">LUMA Display Landscape</a> here.</p>
<p><a href="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/Picture-6.png"><img class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-1019" title="LUMA Display Landscape 2011" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/Picture-6.png" alt="" width="884" height="597" /></a></p>
<p>The industry is extremely fragmented, and is likely to stay that way for a  while.  So if you want to play in the display advertising space (either  as a buyer, seller or manager) you need to understand the difference  between a DSP, DMP and SSP without yelling &#8220;WTF!&#8221;  Yes, it&#8217;s easier said  than done but this map should help you get started.</p>
<p>Steve Latham (<a title="Steve Latham" href="http://Twitter.com/stevelatham" target="_blank">@stevelatham</a>)</p>
<p><a title="Encore" href="http://encoremetrics.com/" target="_blank"><img class="alignleft size-full wp-image-952" title="EncoreLogo 100 x 40" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/EncoreLogo-100-x-40.jpg" alt="Encore logo" width="100" height="39" /></a></p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p><a href="http://twitter.com/encoremetrics" target="_blank"><img title="Spur Interactive Twitter" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/follow-us-on-twitter-bird-150x150.jpg" alt="Spur Interactive Twitter" width="67" height="67" /></a><a href="http://www.encoremetrics.com/contact-us" target="_blank"><img title="Contact-us3c" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/Contact-us3c3-150x111.jpg" alt="Contact-us3c" width="76" height="56" /></a></p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/encore-lumascape/' addthis:title='Display Advertising Landscape ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/encore-lumascape/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>The Five Forces Driving Attribution: Media Measurement Comes of Age</title>
		<link>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/five-forces-driving-attribution/</link>
		<comments>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/five-forces-driving-attribution/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Fri, 27 May 2011 21:53:26 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Steve Latham</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Measurement]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Our Favorites!]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Strategy]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[attribution]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Five Forces]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[online attribution]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.attribution101.com/?p=978</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/five-forces-driving-attribution/' addthis:title='The Five Forces Driving Attribution: Media Measurement Comes of Age '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div>Advertisers are (finally) looking beyond the last click.  Here is an overview of the Five Forces that are driving adoption of attribution and advanced measurement of online media.

Article published by MediaPost in May 2011. <div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/five-forces-driving-attribution/' addthis:title='The Five Forces Driving Attribution: Media Measurement Comes of Age ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/five-forces-driving-attribution/' addthis:title='The Five Forces Driving Attribution: Media Measurement Comes of Age '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div><p><img class="alignright" title="number-5" src="../wp-content/uploads/2011/05/number-5-150x150.png" alt="" width="137" height="137" /><em>Advertisers are (finally) looking beyond the last click.  Here is an overview of the Five Forces that are driving adoption </em><em>(also published by <a title="Five Forces Driving Attribution" href="http://www.mediapost.com/publications/?fa=Articles.showArticle&amp;art_aid=150514&amp;nid=126861" target="_blank">MediaPost</a> in May 2011)<br />
</em></p>
<p>It&#8217;s been 3 years since measurement buzzwords “<a title="Attribution" href="http://www.encoremetrics.com/attribution" target="_blank">attribution</a>” and &#8220;engagement mapping&#8221; emerged with great anticipation and excitement in online advertising.  The idea of looking across digital channels and beyond the last click to measure media throughout the funnel was thought to be the holy grail in online marketing.  Recognizing that “last-click wins” is insufficient for measuring the brand-building attributes of display media, brands, agencies and media vendors saw Attribution as the next big thing in digital advertising.</p>
<p>Yet as we entered 2011, very few marketers were using Attribution to measure and optimize online media spend.  Despite the universal desire for better measurement, most were still using old metrics (click-through rates, cost per click and direct cost per action) to analyze paid media.  Greg Papaleoni, who develops Analytics and Insights for <a title="Yahoo Advertising" href="http://advertising.yahoo.com/" target="_blank">Yahoo! Advertising Solutions</a>, sums it up well: <em>“While Full Funnel Attribution is the future of the ever-evolving digital media measurement landscape – it should be the present.  Those advertisers who embrace and implement this logic, methodology and technology sooner rather than later will enjoy a massive advantage over their competition.”</em></p>
<p>While adoption has been slow to date, this is changing quickly due to the convergence of numerous factors.  Borrowing on <a title="Porter's Five Forces" href="http://hbr.org/2008/01/the-five-competitive-forces-that-shape-strategy/ar/1" target="_blank">Michael Porter’s “Five Forces” model </a>for analyzing industries, here is my take on the Five Forces that are driving digital media attribution (author note &#8211; I received permission from Professor Porter to adopt his model to this category):</p>
<p><strong><em>1. The continuing shift of media budgets from traditional to digital. </em></strong></p>
<p>While total U.S. media spend will grow only 3% in 2011, digital spend will grow 14%, surpassing Newspaper as the #2 medium.  Accounting for almost 30% of daily media consumption, Digital spend will continue to outpace all other channels for the foreseeable future.</p>
<p><strong><em>2. The resurgence of display advertising</em></strong></p>
<p>Per eMarketer, Display media spend will grow 14% in 2011, outpacing 10.5% growth in paid search.  While there are many reasons behind the growth (consumption of social, video and mobile content, better targeting capabilities, real-time bidding, richer formats, etc.) I believe the resurgence of display is driven by two primary factors:</p>
<ul>
<li><em>The maturing of search</em>: There are only so many searches every day, and most marketers have optimized their paid search efforts.  For the big advertisers, there are no more keywords to buy.  As one search exec was recently quoted “paid search inventory is maxed out.” Incremental dollars will have to go elsewhere.  Display is the obvious choice.</li>
<li><em>The return of branding</em>:  As the economy recovers, marketers are re-investing in their brands.  During lean times, online dollars focused on harvesting existing demand (via search).  But with the improving economy, brand-building is once again a strategic priority.  In the digital realm, display media offers the most efficient, effective and scalable way to create awareness, consideration and preference for brands, products and services.</li>
</ul>
<p><em><strong>3. Increasing focus on accountability</strong><strong> </strong></em></p>
<p>While marketing budgets may have loosened, the focus on results has not.  As a result, marketers are keeping a very close eye on ROI from “brand-building” media.  With the ever-increasing need to show ROI, brands now want branding <span style="text-decoration: underline;">plus</span> performance.  To properly measure brand-building media, we need to measure engagement, not clicks.</p>
<p><em><strong>4. Evolution of web architecture</strong></em></p>
<p>Recent forays by IBM and Oracle into the marketing arena signal a new wave in convergence of IT and Marketing.  As the IT behemoths push technology-based marketing solutions, CIOs are becoming more attentive to the needs of the marketing department.  The deployment of Data Management and Universal Tagging Platforms enable advanced analytics and media measurement that were off-limits to marketers in the past.  With this roadblock removed, the stage is set for new measurement tools to be deployed across their digital infrastructure.<em><strong> </strong></em></p>
<p><em><strong>5. The emergence of better Attribution solutions. </strong></em></p>
<p>While early Attribution solutions were expensive and limited in capabilities (e.g. couldn’t attribute credit for organic conversions), a new breed of point-solution vendors (including my company <a title="Encore" href="http://encoremetrics.com" target="_blank">Encore Media Metrics</a>), are now offering more effective, flexible and affordable solutions.  For a very modest investment (as low as 1-2% of media spend), advertisers can now have a much more holistic and accurate view into the performance of each channel, vendor, format, placement and keyword.  These insights are enabling advertisers to optimize media budgets, yielding 20-40% gains in revenue.  The immediate return on investment in Attribution solutions may exceed 1-20x (100%-2,000%).</p>
<p>The Five Forces Driving Attribution are illustrated below:</p>
<p><a href="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/Five-Forces.jpg"><img class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-979" title="Five Forces Driving Attribution" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/Five-Forces.jpg" alt="Five Forces Driving Attribution" width="519" height="401" /></a></p>
<p>As our business objectives change, so must the manner in which we  measure results.  As dollars continue to flow into digital, brands and  their agencies must use more efficient, accurate and effective metrics  for measuring media throughout the funnel.  The emergence of more  advanced and affordable Attribution solutions, supported by growing  support from IT departments is paving the way for Attribution to become a  foundational component within the digital marketing ecosystem.</p>
<p>Matt Miller, SVP of Strategy &amp; Analytics at <a href="http://performics.com" target="_blank">Performics</a>, agrees, stating “Attribution is one of the top priorities for us and our advertisers.  Focus on attribution will only increase as advertisers build and implement strategies to maximize ROI across all digital channels.&#8221;</p>
<p>As always, comments are encouraged.  And please feel free to share!</p>
<p>Steve Latham (<a title="Steve Latham" href="http://Twitter.com/stevelatham" target="_blank">@stevelatham</a>)</p>
<p><a title="Encore" href="http://encoremetrics.com/" target="_blank"><img class="alignleft size-full wp-image-952" title="EncoreLogo 100 x 40" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/EncoreLogo-100-x-40.jpg" alt="Encore logo" width="100" height="39" /></a></p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p><a href="http://twitter.com/encoremetrics" target="_blank"><img title="Spur Interactive Twitter" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/follow-us-on-twitter-bird-150x150.jpg" alt="Spur Interactive Twitter" width="67" height="67" /></a><a href="http://www.encoremetrics.com/contact-us" target="_blank"><img title="Contact-us3c" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/Contact-us3c3-150x111.jpg" alt="Contact-us3c" width="76" height="56" /></a></p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/five-forces-driving-attribution/' addthis:title='The Five Forces Driving Attribution: Media Measurement Comes of Age ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/five-forces-driving-attribution/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>AdExchanger Q&amp;A with Steve Latham, Encore CEO</title>
		<link>http://www.attribution101.com/online-advertising-marketing/adexchanger-qa-with-steve-latham-encore-ceo/</link>
		<comments>http://www.attribution101.com/online-advertising-marketing/adexchanger-qa-with-steve-latham-encore-ceo/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 12 Apr 2011 16:28:55 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Steve Latham</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Our Favorites!]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Strategy]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.attribution101.com/?p=971</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/online-advertising-marketing/adexchanger-qa-with-steve-latham-encore-ceo/' addthis:title='AdExchanger Q&#38;A with Steve Latham, Encore CEO '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div>My 4/11 interview with John Ebbert of @AdExhchanger (published at http://bit.ly/fWevFJ)<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/online-advertising-marketing/adexchanger-qa-with-steve-latham-encore-ceo/' addthis:title='AdExchanger Q&#38;A with Steve Latham, Encore CEO ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/online-advertising-marketing/adexchanger-qa-with-steve-latham-encore-ceo/' addthis:title='AdExchanger Q&amp;A with Steve Latham, Encore CEO '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div><p>Encore&#8217;s CEO was recently interviewed by <a title="AdExchanger" href="http://adexchanger.com" target="_blank">AdExchanger</a>, a leading online marketing  news publisher, about the launch of Encore, the problems we solve and how we&#8217;re positioned.  You can <a title="Encore Media Metrics AdExchanger" href="http://bit.ly/fWevFJ" target="_blank">read the article on AdExchanger</a> or see the transcript below.  Enjoy and feel free free to share!</p>
<h2>Encore Media Metrics Incorporating Attribution For Paid, Owned And Earned Media</h2>
<p><em><a href="http://www.encoremetrics.com/"><img title="Encore Media Metrics" src="http://www.adexchanger.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/04/encore-media-metrics.jpg" border="0" alt="Encore Media Metrics" width="210" height="288" align="right" /></a>Steve Latham is CEO of <a href="http://www.encoremetrics.com/">Encore Media Metrics</a>, an attribution technology company.</em></p>
<p><strong><em>So, what problem are you solving with Encore?</em></strong></p>
<p>We solve 2 problems for agencies and  brands alike.  First, we provide advanced attribution and measurement,  enabling them to see across channels and beyond the last click to  measure performance of paid, owned and earned media.  While most  marketers are aware of the need for attribution, very few are doing it.   Second, we allow them to offload the tedious, manual work of reporting  and measurement, which is a loss-leader for most agencies.  They need  good metrics, but it’s hard to justify the cost of large teams needed to  manage all aspects of reporting.  We offer a cost-effective way to  produce the insights they need to optimize budgets and maximize campaign  ROI.  So to sum it up, we provide better reports and deeper insights in  a way that saves them time and money.</p>
<p>I believe we’re hitting the market at a great time and that this will  be the year Attribution goes mainstream for a few reasons.  First, paid  search is maturing and expanding digital budgets will have to be  deployed elsewhere (display, social, mobile, etc).  There are only so  many searches every day and most companies have optimized their ppc  campaigns.  The low hanging fruit in search has been picked; further  gains will be in much smaller increments and will require buying  short-tail terms that start conversations rather close them (hence the  need for keyword attribution).  This is supported by the fact that  Display will grow faster than search in 2011 and is expected to outpace  it for coming years. Search is still the big dog, but display and other  brand-building media are nipping at its heels.  If you believe Eric  Schmidt’s prediction of a $200 billion global display market, we’re  still very early in this game. Other factors driving Attribution are the  increasing focus on accountability, the upgrading of web architecture  (e.g. adoption of universal tags) and the emergence of affordable  attribution solutions – such as ours.  These factors are converging to  make 2011 a very exciting year for those of us in the attribution space.</p>
<p><strong><em>What’s your view on the competitive set and where you&#8217;ve been and how would you say you differentiate?</em></strong></p>
<p>To understand how we’re positioned, you must first understand how the  Attribution marketplace is segmented.  For starters, there are two  different approaches to attribution: operational attribution and  statistical or algorithmic modeling.  Each approach has its place and I  believe they are more complementary than competitive.  Statistical  modeling analyzes vast amounts of data to look for correlations that  indicate how media channels (display, search, email, affiliate, etc.)  work together to drive results.  Modeling allows you to see which  channels feed each other, and which mix should yield the best overall  ROI.</p>
<p>In contrast, operational attribution creates detailed records for  each visitor that enable you to see which ads were seen and clicked on,  how the visitor found your site, what pages they viewed and what actions  they took.  You can then query the data to analyze engagement paths and  assess the performance of each channel, vendor, keyword and placement.   We believe operational attribution is the foundation for advanced  analytics as it’s based on actual visitor data (vs. a black box) and  provides much more granular insights into performance of all types of  media.  Once you have operational attribution, you can then do advanced  modeling of that data to glean additional insights.  But, operational  attribution will provide 80-90% of the insight you need to optimize your  spend.</p>
<p>Within the Operational segment, you then have to look at the extent  of attribution: lower-funnel (click-based) vs. full-funnel (clicks and  impressions).  While click-based attribution is better than nothing, it  doesn’t answer the question: “which media buys are creating demand?”   The lower-funnel approach relies on clicks, which may be great for  search, but insufficient for measuring the impact of display media.  If  you want a true picture of which ads are creating demand and which  placements are satisfying demand, you need a full-funnel solution.</p>
<p>Now to the original question: how are we positioned vs. our  competitors?  While I can’t speak for our competitors,  I can say we  differentiate in a few ways: 1) we incorporate attribution from social  media (even in the absence of referring clicks), allowing us to provide  attribution for paid, owned and earned media, 2) we have a flexible  approach that is designed to accommodate varying needs of agencies and  brands (no long-term commitments, pay for what you use, etc.), and 3) we  are affordable for most marketers.  If a client spends between $50,000  and $5 million per month in online media, they can afford our solution.</p>
<p><strong><em>Is scale of ad spend critical to Encore’s services – attribution, media mix modeling? </em></strong></p>
<p>If you’re asking is Attribution is only suited for the biggest  advertisers, the answer is no. It really doesn’t matter how much you  spend; you still need to look across channels and beyond the last click  to optimize your mix.  Even if you’re only spending $50,000 a month, a  small incremental investment can yield a dramatic improvement in Return  on Spend.  Any advertiser who is buying more than just search is going  to benefit from Attribution.</p>
<p><strong><em>What&#8217;s your view on the “view‑through conversion”?</em></strong></p>
<p>View-throughs are good for ad networks seeking to optimize their  media placement, but they are limited in what they offer advertisers.   If you are buying display media from 5-6 vendors, you’re likely to get  some view-throughs from each buy.  While view-throughs tell you if an ad  was seen they don’t tell you which ads were the most effective (and  cost-effective) in creating demand, or how each media buy influenced  results from paid or natural search.  You can’t analyze recency or  frequency and you can’t tell the order in which ads were viewed.  You  need more details to truly understand which placements created demand,  the role they played in the engagement path, and how to attribute credit  within the channel.  Yes, you need a full-funnel attribution solution.</p>
<p><strong><em>What’s the difference between attribution modeling and media‑mix modeling?</em></strong></p>
<p>In the context of measuring the impact of digital media, they’re  effectively the same thing.  But for most marketers, media‑mix modeling  encompasses all channels, including TV, print, radio and other  traditional media.  Within that context, operational attribution should  play an important role in providing the inputs that go into such a  model.  We can provide a much more accurate and richer set of data  inputs that will enable the global media mix model to produce more  relevant and insightful outputs.  As mentioned earlier, it shouldn’t be  “either / or” when evaluating operational vs. algorithmic attribution.   They can work in concert quite well.</p>
<p><strong><em>What do you see out there as the most difficult channel to provide the sort of service you&#8217;re providing today?</em></strong></p>
<p>Within digital media, Social is definitely the hardest to measure.   First, referring clicks are not good indicators as very few actually  click-through from social sites to the brand’s web site (see “<a href="http://www.clickz.com/author/profile/1107/robin-neifield">Connecting the Dots</a>”).   But beyond clicks, how do you attribute credit back to people who are  watching your You Tube channel, viewing comments on your Facebook page  or reading a blog about you?  It’s hard because you can’t cookie  browsers on 3<sup>rd</sup> party social media sites.  While Facebook now  allows marketers to set cookies via iframes on company pages, very few  are doing it.</p>
<p>Some try to do social attribution via correlation or looking at  directional trends, where a social mentions drove a spike in traffic and  a lift in conversions.  But this approach is, in technical terms,  “squishy.”  For most, social attribution is a future goal more than a  near term objective.</p>
<p>But since you asked, I should mention that we offer a unique solution  to the social media attribution problem. We use a patent-pending tool  that allows us to identify which visitors or purchasers have engaged  with the brand in social media, regardless of whether or not they  clicked through to the site.   Through this, we can draw a direct line  between online conversions and the social interactions that preceded  them.  We think it’s pretty cool and we’re seeing a lot of interest from  brands, agencies and media vendors.</p>
<p><strong><em>Do you see social media attribution as an opportunity?</em></strong></p>
<p>It&#8217;s definitely something we see as a differentiator but it should be viewed as part  of our solution for two reasons: 1) social should be integrated with  other channels from a measurement perspective, and 2) it’s hard to make a  ton of money on social media measurement.  A brand may spend  $500-$1,000 to measure social interaction, but they’re not likely to  spend more on the tool than they do on their social media marketing  efforts.  You also don’t want to be a one-trick pony in the digital  landscape.  Things move too quickly and one player (e.g. Google) can  make render your product obsolete overnight.  So we see it as a  differentiator and a conversation starter more than a standalone  offering.</p>
<p><strong><em>What is Encore’s target market?</em></strong></p>
<p>We serve brands and agencies who are seeking to create demand and/or  drive sales through paid, owned and earned digital media.  While we can  accommodate budgets as low as $50k per month, our sweet spot is  campaigns with budgets of $100,000 to $2 million per month.</p>
<p>In general, Attribution tends to be more appropriate for considered  purchases, e.g. financial, auto, travel, health care, luxury goods and  anything B-to-B.  The longer the sales cycle and the bigger the ticket,  the more you need Attribution.</p>
<p>We work with brands, agencies and trading desks of all sizes, even  those with internal ad ops teams.  Even if they have a bench, they still  need better tools to produce the insights their planners and customers  demand.</p>
<p><strong><em>How</em></strong><strong><em> does pricing work? Do you charge on according to media spend or is it a per seat?</em></strong></p>
<p>We price our solution as a technology (vs. a flat % of media spend)  that is tiered based on the scope and scale of the campaign.  In  general, we charge a fixed fee that covers the planning, production and  client services, along with a cpm-based fee that covers the cost of data  capture, storage and analysis.  The fee as a percentage of the media  budget will vary significantly.  If you’re buying premium placement  media at $10cpm, our fees are tiny.  If on the other hand you’re going  for scale (e.g. $2cpm), the fee will be slightly higher as a percentage  of spend.  But in either scenario, we’re very affordable and the ROI is  hard to beat.</p>
<p><strong><em>What sort of milestones would you like the company to have accomplished?</em></strong></p>
<p>My primary goal for 2011 is for Encore to become widely known as a  leading provider of measurement, attribution and reporting services.  If  there is a discussion about Attribution, I want us to be one of the  solutions that are always mentioned.  Our value proposition (better  reports, deeper insights, affordable and adaptable) is hard to beat, and  we look forward to proving it to leading brands and agencies.</p>
<p><em>Follow Steve Latham (<a href="http://twitter.com/stevelatham">@stevelatham</a>), Encore Media Metrics (<a href="http://twitter.com/EncoreMetrics">@EncoreMetrics</a>) and  AdExchanger.com (<a href="http://twitter.com/adexchanger">@adexchanger</a>) on Twitter.</em></p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/online-advertising-marketing/adexchanger-qa-with-steve-latham-encore-ceo/' addthis:title='AdExchanger Q&amp;A with Steve Latham, Encore CEO ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.attribution101.com/online-advertising-marketing/adexchanger-qa-with-steve-latham-encore-ceo/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Attribution 101: Full Funnel Media Measurement</title>
		<link>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/attribution-101-full-funnel-media-measurement/</link>
		<comments>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/attribution-101-full-funnel-media-measurement/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 17 Mar 2011 16:15:02 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Steve Latham</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Measurement]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Our Favorites!]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Strategy]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[attribution]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Encore]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.attribution101.com/?p=934</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/attribution-101-full-funnel-media-measurement/' addthis:title='Attribution 101: Full Funnel Media Measurement '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div>Anyone who has ever bought (or sold) display ads is painfully aware of the need for new metrics for online media.  While “last-click wins” may work for paid search, it fails miserably in measuring the impact of display and other media at the top of the funnel.  Hence, the need for full-funnel Attribution, which allocates credit for “assists” in the customer engagement cycle.

“Attribution 101” defines attribution, addresses the two approaches to attribution, and provides an in-depth discussion of channel attribution, vendor attribution and keyword attribution.  Lastly, the article addresses the business case for attribution and how accurate measurement can pay huge dividends to marketers.<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/attribution-101-full-funnel-media-measurement/' addthis:title='Attribution 101: Full Funnel Media Measurement ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/attribution-101-full-funnel-media-measurement/' addthis:title='Attribution 101: Full Funnel Media Measurement '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div><p><a href="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/funnel-blue1.jpg"><img class="alignright size-full wp-image-965" title="funnel-blue" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/funnel-blue1.jpg" alt="" width="183" height="207" /></a><strong>The What, Why and How of Online Media Attribution</strong><br />
[if you like presentations, <a title="Attribution 101" href="http://slidesha.re/gLisOh" target="_blank">view "Attribution 101" on slideshare</a>]</p>
<p><em> </em></p>
<p><em> </em></p>
<p><em> </em></p>
<p><em> </em></p>
<p><em> </em></p>
<p>Anyone who has ever bought (or sold) display ads is painfully aware of the need for new metrics for online media.  While “last-click wins” may work for paid search, it fails miserably in measuring the impact of display and other media at the top of the funnel.  Hence, the need for full-funnel <a title="Attribution " href="http://encoremetrics.com/attribution" target="_blank">Attribution</a>, which allocates credit for “assists” in the customer engagement cycle.</p>
<p>By attributing credit to contributing impressions and clicks that precede subsequent visits and conversions, marketers can have a much more accurate and holistic view into the performance of each channel and vendor.  While most interactive marketers are familiar with Attribution, many are still trying to understand what it is and how it works.</p>
<p><em>The Need for New Metrics </em></p>
<p>While digital is the most measurable medium, the “one-size fits all” approach to online media measurement needs to be re-evaluated.  While click-through rates (CTRs), cost per click (CPC), direct conversion rates and cost per action (CPA) may be applicable for search and other “bottom-of-the-funnel” media, these metrics are not appropriate or insightful for measuring performance at the top of the funnel, where demand is created.</p>
<p>﻿<a href="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/emarketer-post-click-chart.png"><img class="alignright size-full wp-image-950" title="emarketer post-click chart" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/emarketer-post-click-chart.png" alt="" width="239" height="188" /></a>Display ads can be very effective in achieving their objectives (driving awareness) without any clicks or direct conversions.  A recent Media Math study showed that 80% of post-impression conversions are the result of viewing display ads without clicking and only 20% of conversions are the result of a click.  In other words, for every conversion that follows a click on a display ad, there are four (4) post-impression conversions without clicks.  <em>The upshot: we need better tools and methodologies for measuring the performance of media at the top of the funnel</em>.  This is where attribution comes into the picture.</p>
<p><em>Defining Attribution </em></p>
<p>Attribution is the art and science of allocating credit to all interactions that play a supporting role in the customer engagement process.  In other words, it’s the act of giving credit for assists.  Rather than viewing results from each digital channel in its own silo (a la traditional web analytics platforms), Attribution requires you to take a holistic approach to analyzing how each touch-point contributes to the overall goal (visits, conversions, etc.).</p>
<p>With the resurgence of display advertising, Attribution is becoming increasingly important for optimizing media budgets.  As shown in the Google trends chart below show, <em>searches for “online attribution” have increased 150% over the past 36 months.</em></p>
<p style="text-align: center;"><a href="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/Google-Trends-Online-Attribution.png"><img class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-936" title="Google Trends Online Attribution" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/Google-Trends-Online-Attribution.png" alt="" width="725" height="177" /></a></p>
<p><em>Approaches to Attribution</em></p>
<p>Generally speaking, there are two types of Attribution: Operational and Algorithmic / Media Mix Modeling.</p>
<ul>
<li>Operational attribution consists of creating detailed records of every impression, click, visit and action for each visitor to your site, regardless of the source or channel (e.g. display, paid search, natural search, direct navigation, email, social, affiliate, etc.).  Data is then organized and reported in such a way that visitor paths and media placements can be effectively (and efficiently) analyzed.  By understanding which paid, owned and earned media placements are driving the most effective engagement, you can optimize spend and marketing efforts to boost ROI.</li>
<li>Media-Mix / Algorithmic Modeling consists of analyzing impression data, search data, email data and web log files to statistically correlate patterns and trends to fine tune campaigns.  This “black box” approach is useful but it depends entirely on the hard-coded assumptions and calculations in the model.</li>
</ul>
<p>We believe <em>operational attribution is the foundation for advanced measurement and analysis of media</em>.  The operational approach of giving credit for assists is intuitive, logical and easy to understand.  Once the operational attribution model is defined, algorithmic modeling can be used to further optimize the media mix.</p>
<p><em>Channel Level Attribution </em></p>
<p>Channel level attribution addresses the relative roles of each media channel in driving traffic and conversions.  Attribution requires an algorithm that attributes partial credit to display impressions and clicks that precede visits and conversions.  The weighting of impressions relative to clicks will vary based on the type of ad, format, placement and other issues.  For example, highly-targeted rich media placements should have higher weighting than Run-of-network animated .gifs.  Weightings should be customizable for each vendor and placement.</p>
<p>The channel attribution report below shows the relative impact (last click vs. attributed) of each channel: direct navigation, natural search, referring sites, email, paid search, display advertising and 3<sup>rd</sup> party email.  As shown, a<em>ttributable credit for display ads may be 50-400% higher than a last-click report would show.</em> It should also be noted that paid search generally sees a net increase in attributable actions as short-tail keywords often play contributing roles in the customer engagement process.</p>
<p style="text-align: center;"><a href="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/Attribution-Actions.png"><img class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-937" title="Attribution - Actions" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/Attribution-Actions.png" alt="" width="485" height="342" /></a></p>
<p>After attributing credit for actions for each channel, spend data can be imported to show the adjusted cost per action for each channel, as shown below. As illustrated, <em>we typically see a 30-80% decrease in attributable cost per action (CPA) for Display, and a slight drop in CPA for paid search (resulting from keyword assists)</em></p>
<p style="text-align: center;"><a href="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/Attribution-CPA.png"><img class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-938" title="Attribution chart" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/Attribution-CPA.png" alt="Attribution chart" width="477" height="342" /></a></p>
<p><em>Vendor Level Attribution </em></p>
<p>Looking beyond channel level, we use the same approach to assess the performance of each media buy.  Shown below is a sample report showing the cost per action for each media vendor, both last-click and attributable.  As shown, some media buys can appear to be very poor performers on a last-click basis, but are in fact very effective for creating demand that is subsequently satisfied through other channels.</p>
<p style="text-align: center;"><a href="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/Vendor-CPA-Attribution.png"><img class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-939" title="Vendor CPA Attribution" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/Vendor-CPA-Attribution.png" alt="" width="631" height="185" /></a></p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p><em>Keyword Attribution </em></p>
<p>Short-tail keywords (category terms, product terms, etc.) often play “assist” roles in the customer engagement process.  Just as it’s important to know which display ads precede visits and conversions, assist keywords should also be identified.  In many cases, assist keywords may perform poorly on a last-click basis, but perform very well in an attribution report.</p>
<p><em>The Business Case for Attribution </em></p>
<p>Attribution is more than just a buzzword – it is an essential part of campaign measurement and a requirement for optimizing media spend.  As illustrated below, moving “loser” budgets to the “winning” vendors can produce a dramatic improvement in revenue and return on spend.</p>
<p style="text-align: center;"><a href="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/Business-Case-Attribution.png"><img class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-940" title="Business Case Attribution" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/Business-Case-Attribution.png" alt="" width="659" height="257" /></a></p>
<p>Beyond the improvement in media efficiency and ROS, the economic benefits also accrue to:</p>
<ul>
<li>Media planners: save wasted time and energy trying to replace ostensibly “bad” buys that are actually quite effective</li>
<li>Ad Ops and analytics teams who are tasked with aggregating silos of data into massive .xls workbooks (attribution vendors will do this for you)</li>
<li>Media vendors whose ads are actually engaging customers and creating demand that is satisfied through other channels.</li>
</ul>
<p>As an industry, we have to do better.  We can’t use yesterday’s tools to measure tomorrow’s media. Attribution should no longer be an aspirational goal, but rather a key part of your 2011 digital marketing strategy.  The economic returns are compelling and there are numerous vendors (including us!) who would be happy to assist you in taking a more holistic approach to digital media measurement and optimization.</p>
<p>As always, comments are encouraged.  And please feel free to share!</p>
<p><a title="Steve Latham" href="http://Twitter.com/stevelatham" target="_blank">@stevelatham</a></p>
<p><a title="Encore" href="http://encoremetrics.com" target="_blank"><img class="alignleft size-full wp-image-952" title="EncoreLogo 100 x 40" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/EncoreLogo-100-x-40.jpg" alt="Encore logo" width="100" height="39" /></a></p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p><a href="http://twitter.com/encoremetrics" target="_blank"><img title="Spur Interactive Twitter" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/follow-us-on-twitter-bird-150x150.jpg" alt="Spur Interactive Twitter" width="67" height="67" /></a><a href="http://www.encoremetrics.com/contact-us" target="_blank"><img title="Contact-us3c" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/Contact-us3c3-150x111.jpg" alt="Contact-us3c" width="76" height="56" /></a></p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/attribution-101-full-funnel-media-measurement/' addthis:title='Attribution 101: Full Funnel Media Measurement ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/attribution-101-full-funnel-media-measurement/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Goodbye Spur… Hello Encore!</title>
		<link>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/goodbye-spur%e2%80%a6-hello-encore/</link>
		<comments>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/goodbye-spur%e2%80%a6-hello-encore/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 14 Mar 2011 18:38:31 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Steve Latham</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Encore Media Metrics]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.attribution101.com/?p=922</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/goodbye-spur%e2%80%a6-hello-encore/' addthis:title='Goodbye Spur… Hello Encore! '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div>Earlier this year we completed the sale of our former agency, Spur Interactive, to DMN3, an established leader in direct marketing and advertising (read the release).  With the transition of Spur’s agency team and accounts, we formed Encore Media Metrics leveraging our proven platform, capabilities and experience to solve a new problem for online marketers.<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/goodbye-spur%e2%80%a6-hello-encore/' addthis:title='Goodbye Spur… Hello Encore! ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/goodbye-spur%e2%80%a6-hello-encore/' addthis:title='Goodbye Spur… Hello Encore! '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div><p>Earlier this year we completed the sale of our former agency, Spur Interactive, to DMN3, an established leader in direct marketing and advertising (<span style="text-decoration: underline;">r<a title="Spur acquired by DMN3" href="http://www.encoremetrics.com/spur-interactive-acquired-by-dmn3" target="_blank">ead the release</a></span>).  With the transition of Spur’s agency team and accounts, we formed <a title="Encore Metrics" href="http://encoremetrics.com" target="_blank">Encore Media Metrics</a> leveraging our proven platform, capabilities and experience to solve a new problem for online marketers.</p>
<p><a href="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/EncoreLogo-288x115.jpg"><img class="alignright size-full wp-image-962" title="EncoreLogo 288x115" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/EncoreLogo-288x115.jpg" alt="" width="233" height="93" /></a>Addressing the large, unmet need for campaign measurement, attribution and reporting, Encore provides advanced insights while reducing the cost and complexity of <a title="Encore solution" href="http://encoremetrics.com/solution" target="_blank">media measurement</a>.  In addition to our proven solution for measuring video ads, display ads, search, email, etc., we also offer a patent-pending social media attribution tool, enabling us to provide full-funnel <a title="Attribution" href="http://encoremetrics.com/attribution" target="_blank">attribution</a> for paid, owned and earned media.</p>
<p>Encore works with Brands, Agencies and Publishers to help advertisers measure the performance of display, search, email, affiliate and other paid and owned media.  Unlike traditional platforms that attribute credit to the last click, we measure the impact of media at the top of the funnel where demand is created.  Our holistic approach to measuring all digital touchpoints allows clients to see which ads were seen and/or clicked on before coming to the site, often through non-paid channels such as natural search, direct navigation or referring sites.  By looking across channels and beyond the last click we enable client to accurately determine what is working (and what is not), arming them with the data needed to optimize spend and maximize ROI from marketing dollars.</p>
<p>While Encore is a new entity, our solution is not.  Since 2007 we’ve been developing our <a title="Encore platform" href="http://encoremetrics.com/platform" target="_blank">platform</a> and methodologies of looking beyond the last click to measure online media for big brands and emerging challengers alike.  Now that we’ve exited the agency business, we are working with leading agencies, brands and media vendors to provide campaign measurement, attribution and reporting as an on-demand service.</p>
<p>If Attribution is on your radar, I’d invite you to learn more about our <a title="Encore" href="http://encoremetrics.com/solution" target="_blank">Attribution solution</a> and our full-service approach to digital media measurement.  To schedule a demo please <a title="Encore contact info" href="http://encoremetrics.com/contact-us" target="_blank">contact us</a></p>
<p>We hope to hear from you soon!</p>
<p>Steve Latham<br />
<a title="Steve Latham" href="http://Twitter.com/stevelatham" target="_blank">@stevelatham</a></p>
<p><strong> </strong></p>
<p><strong> </strong></p>
<p><a href="http://twitter.com/encoremetrics" target="_blank"><img title="Spur Interactive Twitter" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/follow-us-on-twitter-bird-150x150.jpg" alt="Spur Interactive Twitter" width="67" height="67" /></a><a href="http://www.encoremetrics.com/contact-us" target="_blank"><img title="Contact-us3c" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/Contact-us3c3-150x111.jpg" alt="Contact-us3c" width="76" height="56" /></a></p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/goodbye-spur%e2%80%a6-hello-encore/' addthis:title='Goodbye Spur… Hello Encore! ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/goodbye-spur%e2%80%a6-hello-encore/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Media Attribution Demystified</title>
		<link>http://www.attribution101.com/online-measurement-analytics/media-attribution-demystified/</link>
		<comments>http://www.attribution101.com/online-measurement-analytics/media-attribution-demystified/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Fri, 04 Mar 2011 19:06:10 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Steve Latham</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Measurement]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Our Favorites!]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[attribution]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.attribution101.com/?p=900</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/online-measurement-analytics/media-attribution-demystified/' addthis:title='Media Attribution Demystified '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div>Attribution is a hot topic, but still a mystery to most.  Here are some tips for understanding what Attribution is and how you can use it to optimize online marketing efforts.<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/online-measurement-analytics/media-attribution-demystified/' addthis:title='Media Attribution Demystified ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/online-measurement-analytics/media-attribution-demystified/' addthis:title='Media Attribution Demystified '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div><p><a title="Attribution" href="http://encoremetrics.com/attribution" target="_blank"><img class="alignright size-medium wp-image-915" title="attribution1" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/attribution1-300x217.png" alt="" width="300" height="217" />Attribution</a> is quickly becoming a hot-topic among brands, agencies, publishers, networks and DSPs.  Fueled by the resurgence in Display Advertising, there is a new pressure to measure the impact of video, rich media and banner ads in a way that is appropriate and insightful.  While we all intuitively realize that traditional metrics for measuring online ad performance (click-through rates, cost per click, direct conversion rates, direct cost per conversion, etc.) may work well for search, but not for media at the top of the funnel.  To properly measuring performance of display media, we need a new approach.  And while everyone agrees Attribution is the answer, not everyone agrees on how to go about it.</p>
<p>While most think Attribution is only for those with big budgets, there are many affordable ways to attribute credit to each media channel while learning how to optimize your digital media mix.   In the presentation below, we define attribution, discuss the differences between Operational Attribution and Media Mix Modeling, and provide some tips on how you can determine what is working and what is not, even without an Attribution solution.</p>
<p>The following presentation &#8220;Media Attribution and Measurement&#8221; was recently presented at the 2011 Online Marketing Summit.  It was written for marketers of all levels, but preferably those who are scratching their heads trying to answer the following questions:</p>
<p>1. What is Attribution?<br />
2. How do we do it?<br />
3. What should I expect to find?</p>
<div id="__ss_6866174" style="width: 425px;"><strong style="display: block; margin: 12px 0 4px;"><a title="Media Attribution and Measurement - OMS 2011" href="http://www.slideshare.net/stevelatham/media-attribution-and-measurement-oms-2011">Media Attribution and Measurement &#8211; OMS 2011</a></strong> <object id="__sse6866174" width="425" height="355"><param name="movie" value="http://static.slidesharecdn.com/swf/ssplayer2.swf?doc=attributionandmeasurement-oms2011-110209135914-phpapp01&amp;stripped_title=media-attribution-and-measurement-oms-2011&amp;userName=stevelatham" /><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true" /><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always" /><embed type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="425" height="355" src="http://static.slidesharecdn.com/swf/ssplayer2.swf?doc=attributionandmeasurement-oms2011-110209135914-phpapp01&amp;stripped_title=media-attribution-and-measurement-oms-2011&amp;userName=stevelatham" name="__sse6866174" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true"></embed></object>&nbsp;</p>
<div style="padding: 5px 0 12px;">View more <a href="http://www.slideshare.net/">presentations</a> from <a href="http://www.slideshare.net/stevelatham">Steve Latham</a></div>
<div style="padding: 5px 0 12px;">I hope you find this to be informative and insightful.  If you like it, share it!</div>
<div style="padding: 5px 0 12px;">Steve Latham, Founder and ceo<br />
<a title="Steve Latham on Twitter" href="http://twitter.com/stevelatham" target="_blank">@stevelatham</a><br />
<a title="Encore Metrics" href="http://encoremetrics.com" target="_blank"><img class="alignleft size-full wp-image-903" title="EncoreLogo 150 x 60" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/EncoreLogo-150-x-60.jpg" alt="" width="150" height="59" /></a></div>
</div>
<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/online-measurement-analytics/media-attribution-demystified/' addthis:title='Media Attribution Demystified ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.attribution101.com/online-measurement-analytics/media-attribution-demystified/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Welcome to Our Blog!</title>
		<link>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/welcome/</link>
		<comments>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/welcome/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 03 Mar 2011 16:18:32 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Steve Latham</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[attribution]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[campaign measurement]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[media measurement]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.attribution101.com/?p=846</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/welcome/' addthis:title='Welcome to Our Blog! '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div>Attribution101 &#8211; the Encore Blog was created to share perspectives, case studies and insights into digital media strategy and measurement (you can&#8217;t succeed in either without the other). The Attributon101 is the official blog of Encore Media Metrics, a leading provider of campaign measurement, attribution and reporting services. While may be in a &#8220;wonky&#8221; business, [...]<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/welcome/' addthis:title='Welcome to Our Blog! ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/welcome/' addthis:title='Welcome to Our Blog! '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div><p><a href="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/Encore-Blog-image-e1299170684460.png"><img class="alignright size-full wp-image-857" title="Encore Blog image" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/Encore-Blog-image-e1299170684460.png" alt="" width="182" height="85" /></a>Attribution101 &#8211; the Encore Blog was created to share perspectives, case studies and insights into digital media strategy and measurement (you can&#8217;t succeed in either without the other). The Attributon101 is the official blog of <a title="Encore Attribution Reporting " href="http://EncoreMetrics.com" target="_blank">Encore Media Metrics</a>, a leading provider of <a title="campaign measurement and attribution" href="http://encoremetrics.com/solution" target="_blank">campaign measurement, attribution and reporting services</a>.</p>
<p>While may be in a &#8220;wonky&#8221; business, we come from a different perspective than most practitioners in web analytics and online marketing metrics.  As reformed digital agency principals and Big 4 consultants (<a title="Steve Latham, Bharath Oruganti" href="http://encoremetrics.com/team" target="_blank">meet our team</a>), we&#8217;re using both sides of our brains to help brands, agencies and publishers make sense of campaign results, optimize media spend and maximize ROI from their marketing efforts.  We hope you find our content insightful and intriguing, and that you&#8217;ll feel free to share with others.</p>
<p>Thanks for stopping by!</p>
<p><a title="Encore team" href="http://encoremetrics.com/team" target="_blank">The Encore Team</a></p>
<p><strong> </strong></p>
<p><strong> </strong></p>
<p><a title="Encore Metrics on Twitter" href="http://twitter.com/encoremetrics" target="_blank"><img title="Spur Interactive Twitter" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/follow-us-on-twitter-bird-150x150.jpg" alt="Spur Interactive Twitter" width="67" height="67" /></a><a href="http://encoremetrics.com/contact-us" target="_blank"><img title="Contact-us3c" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/Contact-us3c3-150x111.jpg" alt="Contact-us3c" width="76" height="56" /></a></p>
<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/welcome/' addthis:title='Welcome to Our Blog! ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/welcome/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>ROI Measurement for Online Marketers</title>
		<link>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/roi-measurement-for-online-marketers/</link>
		<comments>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/roi-measurement-for-online-marketers/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 11 Jan 2011 04:09:46 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Steve Latham</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Measurement]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Our Favorites!]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Strategy]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[marketing metrics]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[online measurement]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[ROI measurement]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[web analytics]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[web metrics]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spurinteractive.com/?p=705</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/roi-measurement-for-online-marketers/' addthis:title='ROI Measurement for Online Marketers '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div>Measuring the impact of online marketing, including online advertising, and translating the metrics into business results is challenging enough. Incorporating attribution analysis and measuring lift in brand awareness is even harder.  In this presentation I'll show you how to do it! <div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/roi-measurement-for-online-marketers/' addthis:title='ROI Measurement for Online Marketers ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/roi-measurement-for-online-marketers/' addthis:title='ROI Measurement for Online Marketers '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div><p><a href="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/01/yellow.jpg"><img class="alignright size-full wp-image-967" title="$-yellow" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/01/yellow.jpg" alt="" width="146" height="166" /></a>Throughout 2010, I had the pleasure of speaking to <a href="http://onlinemarketingsummit.com" target="_blank"></a>audiences in Washington DC, Atlanta, Austin, Dallas, San Diego, San Jose (California and Costa Rica!) and Houston on one of my favorite topics: measuring results from online marketing.  While I&#8217;ve been speaking about measuring impact and quantifying ROI for years, it was clear that marketers are increasingly shifting their focus to measurement and accountability.</p>
<p>When I asked attendees what they were hoping to gain from the session, one DC marketer said only half-jokingly &#8220;to justify my existence&#8221;.  I remembered it because it was funny, but also because it&#8217;s true.  Marketing budgets are still very tight, and every dollar that is spent has to be justified.  Consequently, there is an increasing focus on measuring results and demonstrating an acceptable ROI.  This not only requires  knowledge and tools, but also the ability to translate online metrics into business results that are understood by the c-level.</p>
<p>My presentation <strong> </strong><strong><a title="Closing the Gap on ROI Measurement - Steve Latham - OMS 2010" href="http://www.slideshare.net/stevelatham/closing-the-gap-on-roi-steve-latham-oms-2010">Closing the Gap on ROI Measurement</a></strong> addresses these issues in today&#8217;s context, where results matter.  The contents include:</p>
<ul>
<li>How &#8220;above the line&#8221; and &#8220;below the line&#8221; are merging &#8211; digital goes through the line</li>
<li>Challenges faced by marketers today</li>
<li>How to translate online metrics into business results</li>
<li>Roadmap for Measurement Success</li>
<li>Online Surveys</li>
<li>Attribution Analysis</li>
<li>ROI Methodology</li>
<li>Case Studies to demonstrate each concept</li>
</ul>
<p>As always, comments are welcome.  And feel free to share!</p>
<p>Steve Latham<br />
<a title="Steve Latham" href="http://Twitter.com/stevelatham" target="_blank">@stevelatham</a></p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p><a href="http://twitter.com/encoremetrics" target="_blank"><img class="size-thumbnail wp-image-514 alignleft" title="Spur Interactive Twitter" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/follow-us-on-twitter-bird-150x150.jpg" alt="Spur Interactive Twitter" width="67" height="67" /></a><a href="http://www.encoremetrics.com/contact-us" target="_blank"><img class="alignleft size-thumbnail wp-image-528" title="Contact-us3c" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/Contact-us3c3-150x111.jpg" alt="Contact-us3c" width="76" height="56" /></a></p>
<p style="text-align: left;">&nbsp;</p>
<p style="text-align: left;"><a class="owbutton" style="display: inline-block !important; white-space: nowrap=;" href="http://www.onlywire.com/submit?u=(insert url)&amp;t=(insert title)&amp;tags=(insert tags)" target="_blank"><span style="display: inline-block !important; vertical-align: middle !important; font-weight: bold !important; padding-right: 3px !important; padding-left: 3px !important; color: #000000; font-size: 12px; font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;"> </span></a></p>
<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/roi-measurement-for-online-marketers/' addthis:title='ROI Measurement for Online Marketers ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/roi-measurement-for-online-marketers/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Measuring ROI: a Primer for Online Marketers</title>
		<link>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/measuring-roi-a-primer-for-online-marketers/</link>
		<comments>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/measuring-roi-a-primer-for-online-marketers/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 15 Dec 2010 22:17:38 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Steve Latham</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Measurement]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Our Favorites!]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Business Case]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Measuring ROI from Online Media]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Online ROI]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[ROAS]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[ROI]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[ROS]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Steve Latham]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Supr Interactive]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spurinteractive.com/?p=46</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/measuring-roi-a-primer-for-online-marketers/' addthis:title='Measuring ROI: a Primer for Online Marketers '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div>Measuring ROI is now an imperative for marketers.  Here's an intro to translating online activity to offline Return on Spend and Return on Investment. <div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/measuring-roi-a-primer-for-online-marketers/' addthis:title='Measuring ROI: a Primer for Online Marketers ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style " addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/measuring-roi-a-primer-for-online-marketers/' addthis:title='Measuring ROI: a Primer for Online Marketers '  ><a class="addthis_button_facebook_like" fb:like:layout="button_count"></a><a class="addthis_button_tweet"></a><a class="addthis_counter addthis_pill_style"></a></div><p><a href="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/money-icon2.gif"><img class="alignright size-full wp-image-895" title="money icon2" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/money-icon2.gif" alt="" width="69" height="69" /></a></p>
<p>As marketing dollars have become more scarce, the importance of  measuring ROI and building a business case to support investment has  become paramount.  For those seeking to better understand this subject,  here’s a “simple” methodology for quantifying value.  In this case,  we’ll look at ROS (return on spend = expected revenue divided by cost of  online media) and ROI (expected net present value divided by total  investment) from online campaigns.  If you find it to be of value, or if  you have additional questions, please comment below.</p>
<p><strong>Steps to Calculating Value </strong></p>
<p><em>1. Determine the Value metric (Revenue, Margin, NPV) of a customer.</em><br />
Some companies look at value of a transaction, annual revenue per  customer or lifetime value (profit) of a customer.  Some assign higher  values for new customers vs. a new sale to an existing customer. You  need to determine what is best for your organization (hint: choose the  metric that is most used by your executives).  For this example, let’s  assume your average sale is $1,000 and that the lifetime value of a  customer is $5,000.</p>
<p><em>2.  Assign conversion rates to approximate close rates.</em><br />
Let’s assume 3% of site visitors request more information (inquiries)  and that 30% of inquiries complete a purchase.  If you’ve done online  campaigns before, you should have a basis for inquiry rates.  Hopefully  your VP-Sales know how many leads convert to a transaction. If 3% of  visitors become leads, and 30% of leads are closed, 0.9% of visitors  will become customers.</p>
<p><em>3. Determine what your cost or investment will be.</em><br />
Let’s assume you will spend $10,000 in online advertising (display, search, email, etc.) this month.</p>
<p><em>4. Do the math to calculate ROS and ROI:</em><br />
Assuming your efforts drive 2,000 incremental visitors to your site  (cost: $5 each) you should see 60 new leads (3% conversion rate) and 18  new customers (30% close rate) worth $18,000 in revenue or $1.80 direct  ROS ($1.80 in revenue for every $1 spent).</p>
<p>The Net Present Value of the 18 customers is $90,000 ($5,000 each) yielding a Return On Investment of 900%.</p>
<p>If you present these types of results to your CFO, you’ll quickly find a lot of interest (and dollars) in online marketing.</p>
<p><strong>Another Metric: Value per Engagement<br />
</strong>Another way to measure results is calculating value per  engagement (visit, inquiry, etc.).  In the example above, each visit is  worth $9 in revenue ($18,000 divided by 2,000 visits), whereas each  inquiry is worth $300 ($18k divided by 60), compared to a cost per visit  of $5 and a cost per inquiry of $166.67.</p>
<p><strong>Remember Your Margins<br />
</strong>While revenue is an easy metric to measure, margins are much  more important.  Assuming your gross margin is 60%, you are making  profit as long as your cost per visit is less than $5.40 or cost per  inquiry is less than $180.</p>
<p><strong>Caveat Emptor!<br />
</strong>Please use good judgment when applying these methodologies to  your own business. Again, these are not a panacea for every situation.   But hopefully, they will give you some building blocks for quantifying  the impact of your interactive marketing program.  If you have specific  questions, please leave them here.  I can’t promise I’ll know the  answer, but I’ll do my best to help you figure it out.  Happy number  crunching!</p>
<p>Please feel free to COMMENT, SHARE with others and <a title="Encore Blog" href="http://www.attribution101.com/feed/" target="_blank">SUBSCRIBE to our blog</a>.  We look forward to your feedback!</p>
<p>Steve Latham, founder and ceo<br />
<a title="Encore Attribution" href="http://encoremetrics.com" target="_blank"><img class="alignleft size-full wp-image-903" title="EncoreLogo 150 x 60" src="http://www.attribution101.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/EncoreLogo-150-x-60.jpg" alt="" width="150" height="59" /></a></p>
<p>&nbsp;<br />
<a title="Steve Latham Twitter" href="http://twitter.com/stevelatham" target="_blank">@stevelatham</a></p>
<div class="addthis_toolbox addthis_default_style addthis_" addthis:url='http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/measuring-roi-a-primer-for-online-marketers/' addthis:title='Measuring ROI: a Primer for Online Marketers ' ><a class="addthis_button_preferred_1"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_2"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_3"></a><a class="addthis_button_preferred_4"></a><a class="addthis_button_compact"></a></div>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.attribution101.com/marketing/measuring-roi-a-primer-for-online-marketers/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>

